1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New Private Message

Discussion in 'Site Help, Feedback, & Announcements' started by SyscoKid, Dec 10, 2001.

Advertisement
  1. SyscoKid

    SyscoKid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    1,423
    When I came to the site today I had a new private message. That was cool. Now, every five minutes I am getting notified of a new private message, but there is none. What's up with that? :eek:
     
  2. Dark Star

    Dark Star

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,054
    Hi SyscoKid,

    Do you have more than one browser open here? Like at the bottom You'll have one that says "Tech Support Guy Fo......" and another that would say "Help on the Net".....

    Open your second browser and hit the "Refresh" button that is where you'll find your missing PMs

    DS
     
  3. SyscoKid

    SyscoKid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    1,423
    I always have two browsers open. When I got the message, I said OK, then Open in new window, so at that point I had 3 browsers open. I did refresh the one that had my messages in it but nothing new showed up.

    Must have been a temporary glitch of some kind.
     
  4. Dark Star

    Dark Star

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,054
    Well The Tech Guy was here a few minutes back while you were viewing the thread, but I see he is elsewhere now.......

    .....hang in there he will be back here at some point, I'm sure.

    In the meantime I'll send you another PM to further torment you Okay?........On a second thought I better wait to see what Mike says.

    DS
     
  5. TechGuy

    TechGuy Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1999
    Messages:
    14,259
    First Name:
    Mike
    I've never seen any such problem... What browser is it? I'd close your browser all together (all windows) and try again. Something might not be refreshing in the browser.
     
  6. SyscoKid

    SyscoKid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    1,423
    It's IE 5.01 SP1. It must have been a temporary thing. It hasn't recurred since I left the site and came back on. Thanks for your suggestions.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/61294

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice