1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New Problem With Kazaa

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by tmaas, Feb 16, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tmaas

    tmaas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Lately Kazaa hasn't been showing the files that I have uploaded in the "My Folders" section. So I got fed up and started deleting files. I had previously downloaded Kazaa, Kazoom, and another program like Speed Up Kazaa or something from download.com. I uninstalled the programs that could be uninstalled and deleted as much as I could. But my problem is that it won't delete all of the files and it lost my Shared Folder. Whenever I try to delete these certain files it says,

    Cannot delete "xxxxx.xxx":Access is Denied (substitute x for a letter)

    Make sure the disk is not full or write-protected and that the file is not currently in use.

    Is their anyway to finish deleting these or get the rest of them back?

    Thanks,
    Trever
     
  2. The_Egg

    The_Egg

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,157
    Which "files" exactly are you trying to delete, and from where?
    Like Windows says, the files are probably in use.

    First thing you should do is download, unzip and run StartUpList
    Please copy & paste the result file here.

    This will show us a list of all currently running programs/processes
    and a list of all Startup programs, and more.
    We will then examine this list and provide you with the appropriate removal instructions.

    Basically, KaZaa comes packed with spyware and you will need to:
    1) Prevent these apps from loading at boot
    2) remove certain entries from Add/Remove Programs
    3) Clean up the leftovers with Spybot and/or Ad-Aware

    In the meantime, read this to learn more about the perils of installing KaZaa.
     
  3. tmaas

    tmaas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Ok, here's the list. I'm also getting way too many 3rd party ads popping up.

    Thanks,
    Trever
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    StartupList report, 2/16/2003, 2:46:47 PM
    StartupList version: 1.51
    Started from : C:\Documents and Settings\TREVER\Local Settings\Temp\Temporary Directory 1 for startuplist[1].zip\StartupList.EXE
    Detected: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\cisvc.exe
    c:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\vso\mcvsrte.exe
    c:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\vso\mcshield.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\cidaemon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\cidaemon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\hkcmd.exe
    C:\Program Files\MUSICMATCH\MUSICMATCH Jukebox\mm_tray.exe
    C:\Program Files\McAfee.com\Agent\mcagent.exe
    C:\Program Files\Roxio\Easy CD Creator 5\DirectCD\DirectCD.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\vso\mcvsshld.exe
    C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\PhotoSmart\HP Share-to-Web\hpgs2wnd.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\HEWLET~1\PHOTOS~1\HPSHAR~1\hpgs2wnf.exe
    C:\Program Files\DownloadWare\dw.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\KAZAAS~1\msbb.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\wjview.exe
    C:\Program Files\Bargain Buddy\bin2\bargains.exe
    C:\Program Files\Save\Save.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\rundll32.exe
    C:\Program Files\WeatherCast\Weather.exe
    C:\Program Files\Digital Line Detect\DLG.exe
    C:\Program Files\EbatesMoeMoneyMaker\EbatesMoeMoneyMaker.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    C:\Documents and Settings\TREVER\Local Settings\Temp\Temporary Directory 1 for startuplist[1].zip\StartupList.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Listing of startup folders:

    Shell folders Common Startup:
    [C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Start Menu\Programs\Startup]
    America Online 7.0 Tray Icon.lnk = C:\Program Files\America Online 7.0\aoltray.exe
    Digital Line Detect.lnk = ?

    --------------------------------------------------

    Checking Windows NT UserInit:

    [HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon]
    UserInit = C:\WINDOWS\system32\userinit.exe,

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    IgfxTray = C:\WINDOWS\System32\igfxtray.exe
    HotKeysCmds = C:\WINDOWS\System32\hkcmd.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    WeatherCast = C:\Program Files\WeatherCast\Weather.exe /q
    MSMSGS = "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background

    --------------------------------------------------


    Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

    (no name) - C:\PROGRA~1\BLUEHA~1\KaZooM\ipinsigt.dll - {000004CC-E4FF-4F2C-BC30-DBEF0B983BC9}
    (no name) - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3}
    (no name) - C:\Program Files\SuperBar\SuperBar.Dll - {136A9D1D-1F4B-43D4-8359-6F2382449255}
    (no name) - C:\Program Files\NewDotNet\newdotnet4_80.dll - {4A2AACF3-ADF6-11D5-98A9-00E018981B9E}
    Natural Language Navigation - C:\WINDOWS\System\BHO001.DLL - {60E78CAC-E9A7-4302-B9EE-8582EDE22FBF}
    Url Catcher - C:\PROGRA~1\BARGAI~1\bin2\apuc.dll - {CE31A1F7-3D90-4874-8FBE-A5D97F8BC8F1}

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

    McAfee.com Update Check (D4HPJB21-Owner).job
    McAfee.com Update Check (D4HPJB21-PATTI).job
    McAfee.com Update Check (D4HPJB21-TREVER).job

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [BrowseFolderPopup Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\MCBin\Shared\MGBrwFld.dll
    CODEBASE = http://download.mcafee.com/molbin/Shared/MGBrwFld.cab

    [RdxIE Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\Downloaded Program Files\RdxIE.dll
    CODEBASE = http://207.188.7.150/13c2934d4736ae82b222/netzip/RdxIE601.cab

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Winsock LSP files:

    NameSpace #4: C:\Program Files\NewDotNet\newdotnet4_80.dll
    Protocol #1: C:\PROGRA~1\NEWDOT~1\NEWDOT~1.DLL
    Protocol #2: C:\PROGRA~1\NEWDOT~1\NEWDOT~1.DLL
    Protocol #14: C:\PROGRA~1\NEWDOT~1\NEWDOT~1.DLL
    Protocol #15: C:\PROGRA~1\NEWDOT~1\NEWDOT~1.DLL

    --------------------------------------------------
    End of report, 5,205 bytes
    Report generated in 0.485 seconds

    Command line options:
    /verbose - to add additional info on each section
    /complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
    /full - to include several rarely-important sections
    /force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
    /forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
    /forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
    /history - to list version history only
     
  4. tmaas

    tmaas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    I started deleting some of the Spyware programs from Kazaa by going to Add/Remove Programs and removing them. Then I removed the Download Ware program, and the computer automatically opened new internet windows until it got to 50. Then I started to close out of them, the moment I did that it closed out of all of the windows. It's done that before. Is that because of the Spyware? So is there a virus on my computer now?
    Thanks
     
  5. brendandonhu

    brendandonhu

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    14,681
    You can't remove spyware from Kazaa from add/remove programs or kazaa will not work and the spyware will come back.
    You have to reinstall Kazaa, uninstall Kazaa, update and run Spybot, use Hijack This to remove hijackings from Kazaa, then install KazaaLite, which is a spyware-free version of Kazaa.

    You will probably need help at some point with these steps so get through as many as you can and then post back for more help, but these steps need to be done in this order.
     
  6. Mahmud603

    Mahmud603

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    153
  7. brendandonhu

    brendandonhu

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    14,681
    Follow the steps in my post in that order because if you remove the spyware/adware you can not uninstall Kazaa, and for now at least run Spybot before AdAware because the new AA still has problems with an array of spyware that will render your connection unusable.
     
  8. tmaas

    tmaas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    22
  9. The_Egg

    The_Egg

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,157
    Yes, you must uninstall KaZaa first.
    It's pure EVIL!

    Then check Add/Remove Programs
    and if any of the spyware is listed, uninstall them here first.

    Then follow the above instructions to remove everything else with Spybot & HiJack This.
    This is essential!

    You've got heaps of spyware/parasiteware present!

    Running processes:

    C:\Program Files\DownloadWare\dw.exe = nasty!
    C:\PROGRA~1\KAZAAS~1\msbb.exe = 180 Solutions
    C:\Program Files\Bargain Buddy\bin2\bargains.exe = Bargain Buddy
    C:\Program Files\Save\Save.exe = WhenU.com SaveNow


    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe = TKBelleExe RealPlayer Updater spyware.
    Disable this via:
    Start -> Run -> msconfig -> startup tab

    Suspect, but sound dodgy to me (not sure)
    C:\Program Files\WeatherCast\Weather.exe
    C:\Program Files\EbatesMoeMoneyMaker\EbatesMoeMoneyMaker.exe


    Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

    (no name) - C:\PROGRA~1\BLUEHA~1\KaZooM\ipinsigt.dll - {000004CC-E4FF-4F2C-BC30-DBEF0B983BC9} = IPInsight / Sentry
    (no name) - C:\Program Files\SuperBar\SuperBar.Dll - {136A9D1D-1F4B-43D4-8359-6F2382449255} urghhh
    (no name) - C:\Program Files\NewDotNet\newdotnet4_80.dll - {4A2AACF3-ADF6-11D5-98A9-00E018981B9E} = PROPER NASTY & EVIL
    Url Catcher - C:\PROGRA~1\BARGAI~1\bin2\apuc.dll - {CE31A1F7-3D90-4874-8FBE-A5D97F8BC8F1} = Bargain Buddy

    Suspect / not sure:
    Natural Language Navigation - C:\WINDOWS\System\BHO001.DLL - {60E78CAC-E9A7-4302-B9EE-8582EDE22FBF} ?!


    More information:
    http://doxdesk.com/parasite/
    http://www.spywareinfo.com/scanner.php
    http://security.kolla.de/index.php?lang=en&page=links
    http://www.tom-cat.com/spybase/index.html
    http://www.winpatrol.com/stats.html


    Good luck and let us know how you get on :)
    ps. I'm not sure about eMule, but I know eDonkey has got spyware issues.
    Try WinMX
     
  10. vesselle

    vesselle

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    291
    what is this? i use AA regularly, but hadn't heard anything about the v6 having problems.

    V***V
     
  11. tmaas

    tmaas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Ok. I did everything you told me, and downloaded SpyBot and WinPatrol. Now I just have to restart the computer and finish deleting some .dll's.
    Thanks,
    Trever
     
  12. tmaas

    tmaas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Right when I clicked on the reply button, the computer opened like 40 new internet windows again. Then I restarted it and this error came up:
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------
    Error Caused by a Device Driver

    Thank you for submitting an error report to Windows Online Crash Analysis. Unfortunately, we cannot provide you with specific information about how to resolve this problem at this time. The information that you and other users submit will be used to investigate this problem.

    Analysis

    A device driver installed on your system caused the problem, but we cannot determine the precise cause.

    Getting Help

    Depending on which situation is applicable to you, do one of the following:

    If this problem occurred after you installed a new hardware device on your system, the problem might be caused by the driver for the device. If you know the manufacturer of the device, contact the manufacturer's product support service for assistance.
    Some software, such as firewall and anti-virus software, also installs drivers. If this problem occurred after you installed new software, the software might have installed a driver that caused the problem. If you know the manufacturer of the software, contact the manufacturer's product support service for assistance.
    If you don't know the driver's manufacturer and need help diagnosing and resolving this problem, contact your computer manufacturer's product support service.
    Updated drivers might be available on the Microsoft Windows Update Web site. At Windows Update, you can have your computer scanned and, if there are updated drivers available, Windows Update will offer a selection of drivers that you might be able to use. To learn more about updated drivers that might be available, visit Microsoft Windows Update.
    For information about Microsoft support options, visit Microsoft Product Support Services.

    You can track this error report by clicking the Track this error report link. If you choose to track your error report, you will be notified of resolutions to this problem as they are identified.
     
  13. brendandonhu

    brendandonhu

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    14,681
    vesselle-it happens with NewNet, CommonName and a few others. Lavasoft is getting the issues resolved, but rather slowly.
    If they can't remove it properly yet, they should take it out of their definitions.
     
  14. kydd!

    kydd!

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5
  15. tmaas

    tmaas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    SpyBot and WinPatrol are both working good. I'm a little nervous about SpyBot because it is showing a lot of things that need to be fixed. Hopefully that isn't a Spyware program. Also the fact that it says "Use With Your Own Risk" on the top header of the program when open. :eek:
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/119136

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice