1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New Processor No Video

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by romelone, Jan 28, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. romelone

    romelone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    I have a k7s5a motherboard and a geforceTI4600 Video Card
    640 MB/s RAM
    20GB and 40GB Hard Drive
    I had a 900MHZ processor and just put in a new 1.4GHZ processor, after I put the new processor in I haven't got any video I have tried to put the old processor back in but still no video, all cables have been checked pulled apart and put back together many times please help [email protected]
     
  2. n2gun

    n2gun

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2000
    Messages:
    4,168
    First are you getting any beeps when you boot up? Also check the video cable to make sure a pin did not get bent. Have seen that happen a couple times.
     
  3. bencpht

    bencpht

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    142
    Double check that your motherboard can support that processor. I have an ECS k7vta3 (step-up from yours) that was also supposed to support the athlon XP 1700, but after 3 weeks of not getting it to work I gave up. Since your videocard costs about 4 times as much as your motherboard, why not spring for a new mobo? You can get a much better board for $50 to $100. I recommend staying away from ECS, and going to asus or abit. I'm using an MSI right now with that Athlon, and have had no trouble (except with Linux).
     
  4. danielno8

    danielno8

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    289
    i reccomend to stay with ECS.....the K7S5A is **** hot.Not a single problem with it.I have an XP 2000 running on it and a 64MB MX-440 and it is superb!!


    your mobo can support that CPU

    Daniel
     
  5. Matrikx_

    Matrikx_

    Joined:
    May 15, 2001
    Messages:
    95
    I second the the Asus. I ve built many PC with this board type with very few issues. Ive built about 10 with ECS and all but 2 had problems within 6 months.
     
  6. danielno8

    danielno8

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    289
    doesnt neccesarily mean it was the boards fault you had problems!!!!!!!
     
  7. ridgerunner

    ridgerunner

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    34
    I'm running the same motherboard with 1700xp and have not had any problems. Try the simple things- have you reseated the video card and made sure it is fully inserted-It's been my problem more than once when upgrading or building systems.
     
  8. danielno8

    danielno8

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    289
    Glad someone agrees!!!!!
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/115809

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice