1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New PSU

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by fang508, Dec 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. fang508

fang508 Thread Starter

Since my old Thermaltake kinda died on me, I'm looking for a new PSU.I'm not an expert on what specs are good/bad so I came here.

I found this on Geeks.com: www.geeks.com/details.asp?invtid=CP-GP875&cat=CAS

Not a Widely Known company for sure, But i'm on a 50~60$ budget atm.

What Build I have:

Phenom II x4 805 2.5Ghz OCed to 3.5Ghz
    4GB Samsung DDR3 1333Mhz
    Sound Blaster Live! Value
    XfX Radeon HD 4670

My build probly doesn't need more than a Really Good 400W PSU (Tested with eXtreme PSU Calculator @ 100% Utilization) but I wanted one that's also good for Possible Future Additions like a new Gfx card.

2. jack-o-bytes

jack-o-bytes

3. win2kpro

win2kpro

You can tell a good deal about a power supply by the weight of the unit (more weight-better quality). The 875 watt unit you linked to on Geeks.com has a shipping weight of 4.75 lbs. (2.2 Kg.)

I just looked at a Corsair 850 watt power supply here;

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B004O0P9XK/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&m=A3P5ROKL5A1OLE

This power supply item weight is 2.5 Kg (5.5 lbs) and the boxed weight is 3.3 Kg (7.26 lbs.) The Corsair item weight is .3 Kg more than the Cool Power shipping weight.

What this means is Corsair used higher quality parts in their unit than Cool Power. Also the Corsair warranty is 5 years vs the Cool Power warranty of 1 year.