1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New Ram; Now No Signal from Monitor

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Jadedsins, Jan 4, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jadedsins

    Jadedsins Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    My husband & his friend built his pc; He knew from saving the info what sort of ram to get when he decided to get more. He got the ram today installed it & well now we have no signal on his monitor.

    We Have tried the following

    *switching the new ram to a different slot
    *tried using the old ram same issue no signal
    *tried the monitor on a different pc -- it works
    *Shaking out/cleaning the pc thoroughly
    *checking the video card & replugging all its parts back/on
    *reconnecting the harddrive (bout to do)

    Any suggestions because at this point we don't know what is going on. The computer is booting up; it is giving a green light; we had issues the first couple of times when trying to turn the pc it basically stuttered where it'd come on turn off; come on turn off. Finally after re-installing the ram it came on & has come on ever sense so we figured it was due to the ram being backwards maybe?
     
  2. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    ram is keyed,although some manage to force it in somehow,they soon realise there error when the smoke starts rising

    ram probably was not seated properly

    the clips clicking over does not mean it is seated
     
  3. johnebadbak

    johnebadbak

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,731
    after installing the ram switch on, enter the bios and check that the correct memory value is showing the correct amount

    trust you earthed your self to your machine before handling the ram chips.
     
  4. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    40,120
    If it is still not working after reseating the ram, then do the following.
    1 System OFF. Pull ALL ram chips out.
    2 Pw ON. You should receive a beep code. If you do not receive a beep code, you damaged the mb while attempting to install ram.
    3 If you do receive a beep code, then shutdown and reinstall the ram you know works. Do make sure it is fully seated. Pw ON and see if it will post.
     
  5. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    40,120
    Just a side note. Modern mb have pw on them all of the time; even when shutdown. When changing ram, I shutdown then pull out the pw cord from the back of the pw supply. Once down with that, press the ON button 2~3 times. This removes ALL residual pw from the pw supply capacitors. You can now remove, install, etc ram.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1083768

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice