New Siemens Speedstream ADSL/Ethernet Modem keep booting up automatically

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

highspeed

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 11, 2007
Messages
269
I have a brand new Siemens Speedstream ADSL/Ethernet but my problem is, it keeps rebooting by itself automatically making my internet connection go slow and am worried about this.
Any help would be appreciated.
Thank you.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2000
Messages
642
Do other electrical items loose power intermittently at the same power source? If not, take it back and get it replaced, the memory may be faulty, or it may be over heating - bad fan? I guess it is pretty hot in accra, what is the ventilation/environment like?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
If you don't have electrical issues, my guess is the unit is defective. There's no way it should spontaneously reboot.
 

highspeed

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 11, 2007
Messages
269
No, the Siemens Speedstream ADSL?Ethernet Modem has an AC adaptor connection port at the back and also a telephone port for DSL(looks like a USB connection) and ethernet USB port. Also there is a USB port then a reset hole, all at the back.
The AC port connects with an AC adaptor then plugged into a socket behind the wall.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
How does that address the possibility of electrical power issues?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,397
The other guys are saying that you either have electrical power issues or a bad modem.

I can think of two possible electrical problems.

a. You lose power briefly. If you plugged a lamp into the same place you have the modem you would see the light flicker off. Or, as hermes asked, "Do other electrical items loose power intermittently at the same power source?"

b. You suffer brief brownout. By brownout I mean that the voltage drops. This is just about guaranteed to happen on any circuit that includes a freezer, refrigerator or air conditioner. The wiring was so bad in some of the dumps I've lived in that a 60-watt bulb could cause a power dip. If the voltage reduces enough, even briefly, it will be the same as if you had unplugged the modem and then quickly replugged.

You want to make sure that neither of these electrical issues is the problem before you demand a new modem.
 

highspeed

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 11, 2007
Messages
269
I have a voltage stabilizer and the modem is plugged directed to a switch at the back of the stabilizer.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2007
Messages
639
Pick the modem up, take it to another location that is totally on a different circuit breaker. Plug it in, if it does the same thing, as they said above, it is defective. If it keeps rebooting, and there is no chacne to get inside and upgrade the drive, nothing else can be done. RFI means Radio frequecny interfernce. It can get in "induced" (through air) or it can get in "conducted" (through wires). Changing location is to eliminate the possibiliy of RFI. For example, the transformer adapter that converts the ac to dc for modem can also goes bad and cause problem (produce "dirty" voltage).
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2000
Messages
642
I asked a Ghanaian guy i know and he reckons that you are suffering brown-outs. I would balance up what your loss expectancy is against the cost of a backup generator's cost.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Brown-outs are when the A/C power dips below about 80% of nominal voltages for your area. For the US, for instance, the nominal power is 120VAC. So if our power dipped below 95 VAC (or thereabouts), you'd start to see things like lights dimming, A/C compressors stalling, and computer power supplies dissipating more heat trying to keep the voltages at their proper level. This is a "brown-out".
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,397
I discussed brownouts internal to your own electrical circuits. Hermes expanded that to your external supply, outside your control.

Add to JohnWill's description that a brownout could cause your Siemens Speedstream ADSL/Ethernet to reboot by itself.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top