1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New system, hard disk problem... please help

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jsalbright, Apr 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jsalbright

jsalbright Thread Starter

So TSG masters,

I am currently building a computer as a birthday gift for my father. The hardware configuration is as follows (non-critical info has been omitted).

FoxConn 945P7AA Motherboard (SATA support, no NCQ support)
    Seagate Barracuda 160GB SATA I Hard Disk (connected via SATA)
    Pioneer DVD-R/W Drive IDE (connected via IDE PATA ribbon)

I am trying to get an operating system installed. I've gone through all the settings in BIOS/CMOS setup that I'm familiar with, but I must admit I'm not an expert.

The initial BIOS sees the drive and identifies it as expected. Later in the boot sequence, though, the IDE idenfitication process takes place, and it does NOT see the hard disk. I can boot to the DVD drive, start Windows installation, but Windows cannot find a hard disk. I fear that this has something to do with using both PATA and SATA devices, but I've got the BIOS configured for Combined mode.

I've checked every setting I'm familiar with, and even played with a few that I'm not familiar with, to no avail. I cannot seem to get this problem sorted out.

Please please help me; this is a gift for my father and I'm trying to get it completely built and ready by his birthday.

Cheers,
    jsalbright

2. steven1350

steven1350

if you are installing windows xp, it does NOT detect SATA by default. There is a workaround by using a floppy disk somehow......

3. jsalbright