1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New Tapes (LTO2) not working on Dell Server P2600

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Pete79, Oct 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Pete79

    Pete79 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Hi Guys,

    My first post! :)

    I have a Dell Server P2600 Running WS 2003 R2 SP2. I run nightly backups of all information but when I introduce a new tape (LTO2) the drive doesn't like it and the transfer rate slows down and sometimes stops completely :( . I am using Symantec Backup Exec 11d to backup.

    I have updated the driver on the Device Manager; to no avail.

    The Tape Drive is a Dell Powervault 110T LTO2

    Any help appreciated!

    Ta,
    Pete
     
  2. RogueSpear00

    RogueSpear00

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    472
    Are these brand new tapes? Or are you overwriting used tapes? I don't know but my instinct says it's the actual tape on this one, not software or hardware...
     
  3. Pete79

    Pete79 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Well the problem occurs when using NEW tapes...if I use old tapes the transfer rate is fine :s. Thanks for your help :). Pete
     
  4. RogueSpear00

    RogueSpear00

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    472
    Yay! My instinct might be right on this - it's most likely the tapes since the old ones work properly and the new ones don't. I'm assuming you purchased the identical model tapes to use as well, so I'm not really sure where the problem lies between the two... or it could be formatting on the tape?
     
  5. Pete79

    Pete79 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Yeah I purchased exactly the same tapes..which dont work :confused:

    This is what's causing me so much confusion! The tapes dont need to be formatted do they?? :confused:
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/759637

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice