1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved New to forum, looking for some help. thanks

Discussion in 'Networking' started by waterbug1999, Apr 13, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20,555
    uninstall PureNetworks
    uninstall
    Linksys Wireless Manager (HKLM\...\Linksys Wireless Manager) (Version: 4.9.9047.0 - Linksys, LLC)
    shown on your list above

    Configure Windows

    Untitled.png
    Wireless Lan auto config
    WLAN autoconfig as shown in services.
    Test speed please
    If still not good

    Send hosts file requested on the last minitoolbox you have NOT done so
     
  2. waterbug1999

    waterbug1999 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    ok.. I thought I did as you asked, but first. I uninstalled the linkys program, checked that setting and it was all ready in automatic.

    Then i ran that minitool thing and just clicked the box for hosts and there wasn't anything, which is why you thought i didnt do it. . speed is still the same

    MiniToolBox by Farbar Version: 17-06-2016
    Ran by (administrator) on 16-04-2018 at 16:28:45
    Running from "C:\Users\\Downloads"
    Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium Service Pack 1 (X64)
    Model: To Be Filled By O.E.M. Manufacturer: To Be Filled By O.E.M.
    Boot Mode: Normal
    ***************************************************************************
    ========================= Hosts content: =================================
    **** End of log ****
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20,555
    Yes
    Sorry about that - never spotted the entry at the top of the installed program list

    Open device manager
    expand network adapters
    right click the Linskys adapter
    click properties
    click driver tab
    check version of driver
    date of driver and driver provider

    Make a note of those details please or take a screenshot
    and post in reply
     
  4. waterbug1999

    waterbug1999 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    hope i did it right.. this ?
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20,555
  6. waterbug1999

    waterbug1999 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    ok.. uninstalled it.. then clicked on the far right icon in the pic, IS_STA and it loaded what that was, still about the same speed as before. I assume that was the application file? What were the other 2 folders?
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20,555
    Yes it was that one to click
    What is shown now in device manager for the driver version etc
     
  8. waterbug1999

    waterbug1999 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    think its the same one.. I did uninstall it, lost internet connection while doing it.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. waterbug1999

    waterbug1999 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    Wanted to thank you for all your time and effort you put in to help me with this.. The new asus card came in, installed it, ran a speed test and now im at 250-300mbps like it should.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20,555
    Cheers
    Mark it solved please click mark solved above your opening post
    It was presumably that card or rather its driver
    loads of reports regarding problems and even suggestions that with MediaTek - who provide drivers for Ralink as that is what the chipset on the card is, it does not perform well
     
  11. waterbug1999

    waterbug1999 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    Will do.. thanks again!
     
  12. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20,555
    Cheers
    Sorry we could not solve it without the cost of the new adapter card
     
  13. waterbug1999

    waterbug1999 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    No worries.. was time for an upgrade anyways, been like that for a long time, thats how i ended up with the asus 88 U router and some high speed netgear modem lol . Bought
    Parts years ago and assembled my own cpu, I left the old network card in, it’s a different slot
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 17, 2018
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1208578

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice