1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New to linux/knoppix

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by firstc520, Apr 28, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. firstc520

    firstc520 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Messages:
    156
    Ok i have been thinking about messing w/ linux for a while now. Just haven't had the time to work w/ it.

    I have a knoppix livecd that i burned about 6 months to a year ago. It works ok...it loads anyway.

    How would i go about looking into linux distro or how to use it properly. knoppix has a lot of things in the menus that i have no clue as to what they are.

    What is the best distro for a newb to begin with?

    Any help that you all could offer is appreciated, links included of course...lol...

    First_c
     
  2. tsunam

    tsunam

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,240
    hmm links, liberated from lynch :)

    http://www.tldp.org/LDP/intro-linux/html/index.html *tldp.org rocks btw :)
    http://www.linux-tutorial.info/cgi-bin/display.pl?224&0&0&0&3
    http://jetblackz.cjb.net/

    as far as distro's to play with for your first time. Debian, Fedora,(i'd recomend one of these first two)Suse are all decent choices to look at, they'll let you playi n linux without having to know a whole ton, once you get past that point where you want to know more go into the slackware, gentoo, etc distro's
     
  3. Whiteskin

    Whiteskin

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,964
    Use knoppix to learn. Once you are used to it, you can install it to your harddrive. Its not that hard to learn linux, but at least get the basics down before you toss it onto the drive.
     
  4. firstc520

    firstc520 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Messages:
    156
    thats all cool and stuff but w/ knoppix can i download things and install them...i mean it starts in its own operating system, i see that i can access my partitions but can i save to them when i download something? (for example firefox, my browswer of choice)

    And how whould i go about installing it to the HD?

    Thanks
     
  5. Whiteskin

    Whiteskin

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,964
    Not yet. For that, you need to either install to to your harddrive, or create a home directory. I belive there is a boot option to do just that.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/224793

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice