1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New to overclocking... please help.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by davido-23, Jul 30, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. davido-23

davido-23 Thread Starter

Hi, I'm running:
    Windows 8.1
    Asus Z97 Pro mobo
    Intel I7 4770K
    Plextor 256gb pcie SSD and additional data drives.

Hi, I'm trying to overclock my 4770k to 4.5ghz... but I keep getting whea_uncorrectable_error and the system crashes. I've tried Asus AI suite 3 which automatically overclocks to 4.1ghz but again I get the same error, this is my first time with overclocking so would appreciate any advice or settings etc, many thanks, David.

2. davido-23

davido-23 Thread Starter

3. crjdriver

crjdriver Moderator

First of all, have you read the guide at the top of the forum for overclocking? If not, do so.

Next you need to understand that there is NO safe overclock; ALL overclocking entails some degree of risk. If you are comfortable with the above, we can attempt to overclock your system.
    I have a simple rule in regard to OCing; "Never overclock with parts you cannot afford to replace"

Before doing anything, post the exact ram you have installed along with the exact pw supply you have installed. In addition, download and install asus probe. Probe is part of the asus suite and is available on the support page for your mb.

Are you running the stock intel cooler? If so, that is going to somewhat limit your overclocking.

One other item before we begin to OC; just because someone else was able to achieve a given clockspeed [in this case 4.5gig] does NOT mean you are going to be able to achieve the same OC. Every chip is different along with all of the other variables; ie pw supply, case cooling, type of cpu cooler, etc, etc.