1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New to overclocking

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by psaros, Feb 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. psaros

psaros Thread Starter

Specs:
    Windows XP Media Center
    448 mb ram
    1.7 ghz
    nvidia geforce 6150 le

Hi, I just downloaded coolbits because I wanted to overclock my pc for gaming, but i'm new to it and don't know what values I should put for core clock frequency and memory clock frequency. What is the maximum values for my pc so I don't damage it?

Thanks.

2. Elvandil

Elvandil

The defaults set by the manufacturer are the settings that will prevent damage to the system. Beyond that, you are pretty much on your own and taking a risk.

You might, however, benefit from others' experiences:

www.overclockers.com

3. psaros

psaros Thread Starter

That doesn't really help, and defeats the purpose of the whole thing... isn't there a max setting for my specs? Anyone?

4. crjdriver

crjdriver Moderator

No, not really. It really depends on what parts you have. FWIW, I would not use a software app; adj settings in the bios.

The very first rule of overclocking is do not do it with parts you cannot afford to loose. If you are comfortable with that, then continue.

Download an app called prime95 [this is used for checking stability]

Now enter the bios and adjust the fsb up a few Mzh ie from say 200 to 215. Save settings and restart. Now run prime95 for at least 1hr to check for stability. If it is stable, you can up the fsb again and repeat the procedure. Note you will probably have to use a lower ram divider since you end up OCing the ram as well. If your board has a pci lock, engage it and that keeps the pci bus from being OCed.