1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New to webdesign...need some help please

Discussion in 'Web Design & Development' started by ff18wife, Apr 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ff18wife

ff18wife Thread Starter

Hi all...
    I'm new to webdesigning and just took over updating and maintaining hubby's fire dept website. So far, so good...just able to edit text and few other things.

The site is hosted on Yahoo Geocities. I have no idea what program was used to create the site.

Here's my issue right now :
    A couple of the pages have background music which shows up as .swf files in the directory. I have an mp3 song that I need to put on one of the pages as background music and need help with what the code should be. I tried copying the code from one of the other pages with the music, just replacing the file name but it didn't seem to work. Doesn't need to loop, player can be hidden.

I did download Yahoo Site Builder with the intentions of replacing the site that is there now just because it is much easier to use. This site also had me a bit confused since their help file says they support mp3 but when I went to add the file, it wouldn't let me.
    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I hesitate to open the site up in another program for editing in case something gets messed up. I don't have the skills yet to just recreate it and get it back and running fast enough.

Thanks!!!:eek:

2. tomdkat

tomdkat Retired Trusted Advisor

Hi! If you post a link to your site, we can check out the HTML and see what's going on. :)

You can used the object tag to embed your MP3 file. That site also has a link to an "live" example of embedding a MP3 file. Look at the "audio/mpeg" test case. :)