NEW TP-Link 2300 Router Does Not See Internet From Modem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

DSLove

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 25, 2017
Messages
4
I am running MAC OS Sierra 10.12.6. Two days ago my wifi stopped working. I checked my Belkin ROUTER first and saw that the internet light was red. I then checked my MODEM provided to me by Morris Broadband and saw that the internet light was green. So I connected my computer directly to the MODEM to confirm that I indeed did have internet. I did have internet so assumed my ROUTER had stopped working as it is a few years old. I purchased a new TP-Link AC2300 ROUTER and connected it to the MODEM but unfortunately I had the same problem, no internet through the ROUTER. I called my ISP and they said I need a new MODEM because the one I have is 4 years old and it will not support the more advanced TP-Link AC2300. This morning I got the new ARRIS CM820A MODEM from Morris and powered it up and connected my new ROUTER and the problem still exists. I can get internet when my computer is directly connected to the MODEM but when the TP-Link router is connected to the modem the router does not detect an internet signal (Showing Red Light). Since I am having the same problem with both new/old routers and both new/old modems I am assuming the problem is with the config in MAC. Help....
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,482
Are you remembering to power cycle the modem when switching the device connected to it? If so, try unplugging the modem for five minutes or so. I know that sounds extreme, but it's worthwhile to try.

Some ISPs require the MAC Address of the device connected to the modem to be registered with them. If yours does, have you registered the new router's or else cloned your computer's to the router?
 

DSLove

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 25, 2017
Messages
4
Yes, I have powered cycled both the modem and the router multiple times per the request of the customer support reps at my ISP and TP-Link. In addition, my ISP has not requested the MACs address. How would I clone my address to the routers?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,482
Usually there's a "Clone MAC Address" button in the router's configuration pages.

Check the User's Guide.
 

managed

Allan
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
13,938
Do you need to change the wireless password in the new router to match the one used with the old router ?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,482
I don't see what could be wrong.

You did try the 5 minute or so modem power cycle, right?
 

DSLove

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 25, 2017
Messages
4
I don't see what could be wrong.

You did try the 5 minute or so modem power cycle, right?

I did try that. So I decided to plug in my old Belkin N router into the new modem and it works. Thinking the problem may have resolved itself I tried plugging in the other NEW routers again. Unfortunately it did not. It baffles me why the new ones will not grab the internet signal from the modem. Good news is I have Wifi for now with my old Belkin router but bad news is I still would like to upgrade so I can utilize the higher speeds/connectivity available to me. I have a tech from the ISP coming out tomorrow to check it out so I will keep you updated. Any other input is appreciated.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,482
Try connecting (the WAN port of) the new router to the Belkin. That should tell you whether there is something wrong with the new router or not.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top