1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New Video Card - No signal

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Vaare, Apr 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Vaare

    Vaare Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    I just bought an MSI GeForce 8800GTS video card. Arrived today. Once installed it doesn't show any video whatsoever for either of my two monitors. Tried swapping them repeatedly and restarting, but to no avail. No idea what the issue might be. Maybe the monitors are incompatable? I also thought maybe my PSU just doesn't have enough juice to run it.... Can anyone shed some light on this.

    Thanks in advance.

    My setup:
    AMD 2.0GHz single core
    2GB RAM
    Previously: eVGA Geforce 6600 256mb video card
    PSU: 550W
     
  2. replay

    replay

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5,536
    does it need power in the back of the card
     
  3. Vaare

    Vaare Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5

    Yes, and it comes with an adapter, which I have plugged in already.
     
  4. reapcorp

    reapcorp

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    It seems that your GPU is dead or not enough power.
    But You are saying that your old card does not power on your monitor?

    Make sure everything is plugged in, might have unplugged something during the installation process.
    Try using the DVI dongle that came with your graphics card.

    Dust might be an issue, it probably got inside the slot.
     
  5. SOFwhitewolf

    SOFwhitewolf

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    238
    what kind of PS do you have? what manufacture?
     
  6. Vaare

    Vaare Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    My old card worked fine, this new card doesn't. I tried unplugging everything but the video card and my OS HDD from the PSU, still nothing. I don't think power is an issue. I'll try dusting out the slot though. I really hope the card isn't dead. The fan on it seems to be working though.
     
  7. Vaare

    Vaare Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    The PSU just says "ESI" and like I said, it is 550W max.
     
  8. reapcorp

    reapcorp

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Sounds like your GPU on the card is dead. It happens you might be one of the customers who got a rotten egg.
    Is there anyway you can test it on another computer?
    If you have integrated graphics card, try connecting to that one instead of the new one. If you do get a signal on the integrated graphics card, then your new card is dead.
     
  9. Vaare

    Vaare Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Well I just tried putting my old card back in and booting up and it's dead now too... Now I have no idea what the hell is going on. Maybe I was careless and now the mobo is fried.... All I know is hair is starting to fall out of my head, and I'm 19.
     
  10. reapcorp

    reapcorp

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    to find if your motherboard is dead, take out the RAM, and if it beeps, your are fine. Just make sure you reinstall it gently.

    Again just make sure everything is plugged in, and to be safe disconnect your hard drive, you don't want to kill it by restarting your computer many times. (this has happened to me before, turns out that it was a the cpu cable that i accidentally disconnected)
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/704480

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice