New Video card not connecting

bobbee

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 21, 2000
Messages
207
Have integrated intel hd630 video, ASUS Z270-A motherboard
Just installed amd rx560 graphics card
Booted with intel, went to amd website - it recognized the rx560 and installed the software.
Went to device manager and both are there, intel and rx560
I disabled the intel
Shut down
If I connect the monitor to the rx560 - nothing
 

bobbee

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 21, 2000
Messages
207
I disabled the intel 630 in the device manager.
6 pin power connector, xfx amd radeon rx560
Corsair 550m power supply (6-2 pin, using the 6 for the card)

A blue light is on the graphic card where the power connector is connected.
 

bobbee

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 21, 2000
Messages
207
I was thinking about using a different pci slot, however the amd website id the card and installed the correct software.
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
2,322
You need to disable the onboard intel GPU in the BIOS. Then make sure that the PCIe is set for default for GPU. It should do that automatically but sometimes you have to manually do it.

When ever I put together a system I all ways double check those 2 settings and most of the time I have to make those changes.
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
2,322
I would manually download and install GPU driver/software package and then use the software to setup the GPU....ie fan settings and any OC'ing you want.
 

bobbee

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 21, 2000
Messages
207
"disable the onboard intel GPU in the BIOS. Then make sure that the PCIe is set for default for GPU. "
The bios is rather cryptic, I found primary display as TGFX, I changed it to PEG
Do you know where the PCIe is set ?
(a 550m power supply)
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
2,322
Every mfg places it differently in the BIOS. Read your mobo manual, it will till you exactly where to find it.

There's no listing for a; a 550m psu on corsair website. It's why I asked if it's the CX series. If it is, those are just entry level PSU's. You should have at least the RMx series but preferably the HX and AX series.
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
2,322
Just keep an eye out on it....they're not very power efficient and tend to not get enough clean power to the GPU.

BTW; what CPU do you have in that mobo? Just curious.
 

bobbee

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 21, 2000
Messages
207
intel i7-7700
drivers from support.amd.com/en-us/download (referenced with card)
adrenalin yes

Bios potentials

Graphic card
bus interface PCIe 16-1
GOP/BIOS selected value gpu - no selection available

Primary display IGFX
IGPU multi monitor disabled
RC6 render standby Enabled
DVTM Pre allocate 64M

PCI Express Native power mgmt - disabled
PCH DMI ASPM disabled
DMI link aspm disabled
aspm Peg - aspm disabled

PCIex 16_1 link speed = auto
PCIE speed - auto
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top