1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

new video card question

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by code65, Feb 27, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. code65

    code65 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    282
  2. BG-0

    BG-0

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    6,922
  3. code65

    code65 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    282
    So the 4850x2 you posted there (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102809) will perform better then 2 normal 4850's in crossfire?

    Edit: Also how much bigger is that card to the 8800gt? My case isn't exactly small but im curious if it would fit. My case is one of the older models of alienwares cases.
     
  4. BG-0

    BG-0

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    6,922
    It's about 20% longer, depending on the "version" of the 8800 GT, and somewhere about 60 % thicker, again depending on the "version".
     
  5. code65

    code65 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    282
    My current card is a XFX 8800gt XXX edition and has about 2 more inches to go till it raches the hard drive brackets. Anyway so the 4850x2 is better then the 2 normal 4850's? the 4850x2 has about the same clock speeds as 1 normal 4850. Also I only run in 1280x1024 res(highest my monitor can go).
     
  6. BG-0

    BG-0

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    6,922
    The 4850x2 isn't that much better than the dual 4850s. The thing why you shouldn't get dual 4850s is that they will generate more heat, cost more(compared to the 1 GB version, but again, 2x 1 GB 4850s would be more than the 2 GB 4850x2 anyways), and will be a bit more unstable in performance. Still, with the noise and depth of the 4850x2, it's just up to you to decide. I have no idea how it is so hard to mention the depth of the card anywhere. The 8800 GT seems to be 9.1 inches deep (or long, if you may), but I really couldn't find the info on the 4850x2.
     
  7. code65

    code65 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    282
    I heard the card was about 11.5" long.
     
  8. BG-0

    BG-0

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    6,922
    Could be, or even longer, I say.
     
  9. code65

    code65 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    282
    If that's the case I don't think it will fit. Any other single cards for arround the same price that can match its performance and not be as long?

    Edit: Whats the best card with a price range of 400.00 max?
     
  10. BG-0

    BG-0

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    6,922
  11. code65

    code65 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    282
    The card is said to be about 10.5" so if my card is 9.1" with 2" to spare it should be fine but i'll measure later. Anyway it says the card comes with a "S/PDIF Cable" and im curious, what does that do and where does it plug into?

    Edit: Also a review said to make sure your power supply has 40 amps for the gtx or it may be unstable, how do you check to see if it has that (my power supply: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817153039)
     
  12. BG-0

    BG-0

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    6,922
  13. code65

    code65 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    282
    Hmm I might not be able to swing both a new card and a new power supply. Are there any card similar to the performance of that GTX 285 that can run on my current power supply?

    Edit: Curious but the power supply specs says "[email protected],[email protected],[email protected],+ [email protected]" so wouldn't that be 72 amps? In this forum here the guy has a similar setup (amp wise) http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/259345-33-4x18amp-rails-amps-recommended-good however im not sure what they mean by everything they say. Also not sure if they are talking about the overclocked edition or normal one.
     
  14. BG-0

    BG-0

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    6,922
    Not really. GTX260 will work, but it's a whole lot lower than a GTX285 or Radeon 4850x2.
     
  15. code65

    code65 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    282
    I was able to come across this post of someone asking if their power supply (same as mine) can run the gtx 280 and they said yes, however im a little confused as to what they say he should do for it to run. Something about making sure the cords are on different rails or something. http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?p=5975557
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/804884

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice