1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New Win 7 install would appreciate screen size advice

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by etherdose, Sep 28, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. etherdose

    etherdose Temporarily Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    499
    First Name:
    Michael
    Greetings!

    I installed Win 7 on a newer computer (desktop) and my biggest issue I always run into is the graphics are so huge on the screen that I cannot make choices, click boxes and such which makes it a driver install tease as I see the starter screens on drivers discs when I go to install them on this new setup, but they are resolution HUGE. I use a seperate graphics card and I am trying to figure out how to make things visible on a native install. In other words, I cannot install the darned drivers if I can't even see the boxes because the screen is ginormous. ~~~I appreciate any help as I am rebuilding a gaming pc into a podcasting pc. I plan to podcast music in the future and I need to get win7 fully installed as well as a whole slew of audio programs, (vegas, cakewalk, etc) Thank you to all who read this. Doubly so to those with good ideas. :~D
     
  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,696
    right click the desktop on the menu that appears if you have screen resolution, click that
    on the windows that opens - click the drop arrow on resolution
    move the slide up to a higher resolution
    click apply and ok
     
    etherdose likes this.
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,984
    First Name:
    Frank
    Before you do a clean install Windows 7 in a computer, you need to identify its primary devices(chipset, graphics, audio, ethernet, wireless, etc.) and obtain the drivers for them.
    Then after Windows 7 is installed, you need to install the necessary drivers, starting first with the chipset driver before installing the other drivers.
    Once the graphics driver is installed, you can select the resolution setting you want.
    Because the graphics driver isn't installed, it's my guess your monitor is stuck on a 640 X 400 or 800 X 600 or 1024 X 768 resolution - which is why everything looks so large.
    You didn't provide any information about your computer's hardware and primary devices, so we have no idea at this point which Windows 7 drivers it needs.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
    etherdose likes this.
  4. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,510
    First Name:
    Allan
    If things like the OK button on a Window are off screen because the Window is too large hold down the left Alt key and press Space then M and you can move the Window with the arrow keys. Press Enter to stop.
     
    etherdose likes this.
  5. Fireflycph

    Fireflycph

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,034
    First Name:
    Morten
    If you tell us the version of WIndows 7, 32 or 64 bit. ANd the exact make and model number of the graphics card, then someone can post a link to the correct driver.

    If your system does have an on-board video, try to use that until you can download all the correct drivers. As Frank said, paraphrased, "the first one to install is for the Chipset.
     
    etherdose likes this.
  6. etherdose

    etherdose Temporarily Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    499
    First Name:
    Michael
    Got back in from lots of gothy aggressive music stuffs. Ok. Give me a day to look over the comments. Thank you friends.
     
  7. etherdose

    etherdose Temporarily Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    499
    First Name:
    Michael
    What I ended up doing is attempting a flash Linux install. When I realized that Linux would use so much less of the systems resources for cameras in my (hopefully) podcast business.

    (inappropriate content removed by Administrator)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 5, 2019
  8. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    114,247
    I've removed inappropriate content. This is not a venue for your rude and disrespectful rants.

    This conduct and that in another thread has earned you a 24 hour temporary banning. I suggest you read the rules during this time to understand what is appropriate and what is not on this site if you wish to remain a member.
     
  9. etherdose

    etherdose Temporarily Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    499
    First Name:
    Michael
    Well, I kind of understand, but when you censor things, then I am not sure what part? I feel I am being a bit monstrous sized. I feel like it's a social read, but with all due respect I have given plenty respect, so point taken.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1233569

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice