New windows 7 msvc80.dll error

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sheila_79

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
8
Hi Everyone

I just bought a new computer yesterday that had the Windows 7 OS installed. On the first use I encountered a MSVC80.dll error when loading Adobe Photoshop on the computer which I've never encountered before when loading this program.

I loaded the program on another computer (as I require it immediately for work) and I did not have any issues on the other comp which makes me think its Windows 7.

Could someone help me?

I have downloaded and bought RegistryEasy which I thought would help. Unfortunately this did not help and I still have the same issues.

Being a new computer I'm feeling very frustrated that this has happened. Several internet websites have suggested so many different solutions. However I am only a beginner at comps and know only basics but am a quick learner and keen to try out any suggested solutions.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
11,761
Howdy,

Are you trying to install Photo shop when you get the error or try to run it and which version is it?

Have you downloaded you Windows 7 updates?
 

sheila_79

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
8
Hi

I have Adobe Photoshop CS4 which is the latest one out..

I would like to stick with Windows 7 if possible.

I was able to download the program, its when I click the icon this error message shows up requesting me to reinstall msvcp80.dll because 'its missing'.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
11,761
Did you install it from a disc and on the main C drive?

I have CS4 on my W7
 

sheila_79

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
8
Hi megabite

I got my friend to install it on my computer.

I have basic knowledge on computers and installing programs etc.

I can follow instruction well if you have the time to write down the steps so I can check.
 

sheila_79

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
8
Ive moved the program into C drive and it is still saying the same thing?

I am also downloading the updates just in case that is the problem.

I don't believe it is though but will give it a try?
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
11,761
If it is not a legal copy then that is why the error and we cannot help you here against site rules
 

sheila_79

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
8
Oh, I dunno. He just put it on. I suppose as long as its not W7 then I have nothign to worry about.

If it is a legit copy then is this a major issue for me?
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
11,761
Well I have seen that error before with CS4 but usually with pirate copy of it....not saying that this is one......and you cannot just move it to the C drive you would have to uninstall it restart the PC and re-install it on the C drive
 

sheila_79

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
8
Oh right. I'll get back to you when I find out if its legit copy.

Thanks for your help so far.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top