new2xp help

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

d19j72p

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 1, 2003
Messages
25
Hi everyone I just got this computer yesterday and I am still
trying to figure it out. I have used other computers before but
all of them used Win98 and I am lost with this XP!
I have read thru alot of the post and I think that I add all the
info in my sig for my info.. My question is how do I get to the
area where I can see what is running @ start and then how will
I know what I can and cannot turn off. I was playing around
last night and was doing the Critical updates from windows and
then all of the sudden a box popped up that said I was running
low on system resources and that it was going to make a new
page? or something?? Why does a brand new computer not out
of the box 12hrs run low on system resources?

XP = Xtremely Perplexing Thanks in advance =]
 
Joined
Feb 13, 1999
Messages
8,974
Run MSCONFIG, select the Startup tab and uncheck everything except your virus scanner, if you have one. Then reboot.

Almost every application when installed adds itself to Startup, which is not needed. As to which ones to leave enabled that's a tough question. To find the correct one it usually take trial and error, because every PC and user likes are different. So I recommend you try using your PC without the others. If you find you are missing something, repeat the process and Check the item you need. I recommend you only add one back at a time, to know the cause and effect, otherwise you will be back where you are now with the problems you are experiencing.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2002
Messages
429
Follow Dan O's advice on the start-up. The amount of RAM that your system has, (128MB) is probably "adequate", but only just.
The Trick that the system did that perplexed you was to increase your "Paging File", which is basically the area of your hard disk set aside for windows to operate on when the RAM is fully utilised.
The standard size for a paging file is twice the size of the RAM, but this may become inadequate if many programs are used at once. The OS will take care of the increase if it needs to.
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2002
Messages
860
HI, This site might help you. He tells you what the services do and wether you really need them.

http://blackviper.com/

I ran XP on less ram than you have and it ran alright. Using DDR it is supposed to be the equivalent of twice ordinary ram. Peace Mal

PS I am not a Gamer.
 

d19j72p

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 1, 2003
Messages
25
Hi again all,
Thanks a bundle, I ran msconfig and selective startup and untick
almost everything.. Left V-Scan, and a few other programs and I
have not had the problem again. system seems faster as well

Thanks Dan O, Huon
The site from mal1930 was very helpful but seemed real
complicated.

You guys/gals are great...

Any of you all know anything about S3 Graphics ProSavage DDR ?

I like to Play Diablo II and it has a 3d enhancement and the tests
said that I could run it with S3's ProSavage, but it almost
completely stops the game makes it "lag-out" real bad, even
when trying to play off-line? I know this probably isnt the right
topic/thread so if not please tell me and I will move it to the game
topic/thread..
Also the game requirements for the 3d thing is only 8mb of
video ram and I am supposed to have 16mb!

Thanks again and again for the quick and accurate help!!
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2002
Messages
429
I have copied this advice from my diablo 2 help files.

Video Options and Performance
Various graphics options may be adjusted to improve performance.
To adjust the video options, press the Esc key.
Next, click on the Video Options item in the menu that appears.
Resolution
This option adjusts the resolution of the game display. There are two settings: 640x480 and 800x600. Setting this option to 640x480 increases performance.

Lighting Quality
This option adjusts the smoothness of the lighting. There are three quality settings: LOW, MEDIUM, and HIGH. Setting this option to LOW increases performance.

Blended Shadows
This option blends the shadows on the screen. Turning this option OFF increases performance.

Perspective Mode (not available in DirectDraw)
This option dynamically scales parts of the world to simulate the visual effect of perspective view. Turning this option OFF makes the game look less 3-Dimensional and increases performance.

The standard advice applies , of course,
turn off any other programs running in the background.
I remember my copy ran a little rough until I upgraded my video to a standalone card, it was a shared video as well.
 

d19j72p

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 1, 2003
Messages
25
Thanks for the info I wil try and adjust the settings and see if it
helps.. :cool: if not I will stay with the normal 2d.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top