1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Newbee To WebPage Building

Discussion in 'Software Development' started by 1trueshadow, Oct 8, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. 1trueshadow

1trueshadow Thread Starter

<note to moderators: If this thread fits better in "web & email" please move at your discretion>

I am new to the world of webpage building. I can write basic HTML, but nothing realy good to look at. I want to learn how to write the HTML so that my site looks like what I invisioned and not looking like some pics and text glued to a peice of construction paper. (if anyone wants to see what I have made so far vist ProfileOfAShadow. It is my profile I created for MSN Roleplaying. Watch out for the pop-ups, its a free site!!)

I was wondering if anybody out there had some hints, tips, programs or links that will help me out. Thanx for your time

2. moebius

moebius

try programming in asp. use xml and xsl.
    goto www.w3c.org for web guidelines/whitepapers/specifications
    try flash its easy. but its expensive.
    and get a respectable domain for Gods sake.
    www.my.dot.tk

3. Shadow2531

Shadow2531

First you have to make sure you have some browsers to test your code with.

Netscape
    Netscape 4.8
    IE6

IE4 (separate computer/partitoin e.g. win98FE comes with IE4)

Firebird
    Opera
    Mozilla
    (Plus alternate os versions of the above)

Check your pages at http://validator.w3.org

Visit www.w3c.org and read all the specs.

Also at www.w3c.org download the Amaya Browser/Editor. It will help you in the learning process. Don't actually rely on it for developing webpages.

I recommend editPlus for a text editor.

Html kit is another program that will come in handy from time to time.

links

www.htmlgoodies.com
    www.w3schools.com