1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Newbie at this.....

Discussion in 'Networking' started by EllieBean, Jul 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. EllieBean

EllieBean Thread Starter

I am moving and want to set-up a wireless connection - for my PC and laptop -
    *The connection will be DSL
    *Desktop - Dell Dimension 4600 - XP Home Edition - Intel Pro/100 VE Network Connector
    *Laptop - Dell Lattitude D600 - XP Pro

I am very new to all of this -- I want a wireless connection for the laptop - the desktop could be wired or wireless -- which ever is better to do.

I am assuming I need:
    wireless router
    wireless cards for each computer

As I said I am assuming -- so better than assume.........I will ask you - What do I need?

Also is there a brand you would recommend for these items...

Thanks so much for dealing with a newbie like me! :eek:

Ellie

2. StumpedTechy

StumpedTechy

Stick with wired on the desktop if it does not matter to you it does not suffer from environmental interferance and suffers from alot less difficulties.

Check your Laptop -http://www.dell.com/downloads/us/products/latit/d600_spec.pdf - from what I read at the dell site your laptop should have wireless already. You check under device manager and network connections to see if there is anything about a wireless adapter.

If your PC stays wired and your laptop already has wireless all you need is a cat 5 cable to connect your PC to the router and a wireless router.

If your Laptop does NOT have a wireless adapter after checking then you also need to add to the above items one PCMCIA or USB Wireless network adapter.

3. EllieBean

EllieBean Thread Starter

Hi... Thanks so much for getting back to me...........