1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Newbie buying my first monitor...

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by BJCglc, May 8, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. BJCglc

    BJCglc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Hello to everyone,and thank you ahead of time for any replies to my question...my question is that of a newbie so i apologize for any stupidity in the question ... am purchasing my first pc monitor in about 3 months am saving a budget of 200 dollars ..i have a gtx 1050 2gb video card in my system my display for game playing at the moment is my 10 year old 49 inch Vizio tv.I know laughable right?any how can my 1050 2gb run on a 144mhz monitor or what would you suggest my best option to getting the peak performance from the card?monitor specs ..name brands what size would be best and the mhz and mps if possible.... i come here because this is where the true info comes from i heard ..thanks once again here is my system info
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4460 CPU @ 3.20GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 60 Stepping 3
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 8135 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050, -2048 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 916 GB (249 GB Free); E: 1863 GB (945 GB Free);
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC., G20AJ
    Antivirus: Webroot SecureAnywhere, Enabled and Updated
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 9, 2019
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,131
    First Name:
    Frank
    You appear to have an ASUS ROG G20AJ which appears to have these specs:

    Capture.JPG

    8 GB DDR3 RAM
    1 TB SATA3 hard drive
    180W or 230W power adapter

    Considering the GeForce GTX 1050 2 GB graphics card requires a minimum of a 300W power supply, I'm surprised it's able to run in your ASUS ROG G20AJ.
    That graphics card doesn't appear to adequately support 144Hz, but I'm not a hardware/gaming expert, so I may be wrong.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    34,610
    Hi BJCglc, I edited your post to remove the abbreviated swear word, as this is a family site :)
     
  4. BJCglc

    BJCglc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Am so sorry i will remember thank you sir.
     
  5. BJCglc

    BJCglc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Hi sir thank you for your response..i have been ill for a moment still not feeling well but am living can not complain.So will a 27 inch or 24 inch 75 mhz or 60 mhz freesync do the job sir?i have a 230 watt supply sir..am looking at Asus monitors from Best Buy am sorry for misspelled or incorrect words i have a small injury to my head when i was younger words get jumbled will it work for the nividia i was told freesync will not run gtx 1050 2gb am lost please help me if you can my pc is my only connection and my outlet for stress and depression bouts..thank you and God bless.Any brand you can offer as info for me is helpful i have saved 235 dollars so far thank you again sir
     
  6. BJCglc

    BJCglc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    sorry i think i put my reply in wrong place sorry
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,131
    First Name:
    Frank
    I haven't shopped at or bought computer equipment at "Best Buy" in over 10 years, so I have no knowledge of what monitors it sells.

    If you go HERE, you can browse through its list of monitors and select one that meets your needs and budget.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1226862

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice