1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Newer PC Freezes Constantly

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by blackstar34, Feb 4, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. blackstar34

    blackstar34 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Aopen, Windows XP SP2
    All updates
    amd athlon xp 64 Processor 3000+
    2 Ghz
    80 gig hd; 1 GB ram


    I've run scandisk, its only been here for about 3 months so its not ready to defrag. I've done anti-virus/spyware searches. I have no idea why this PC keeps freezing, it doesn't even happen when someone has 100 programs open either, it will just lock up without warning.

    Could this be a problem, I'm looking at System Information and I see:

    Total Physical Memory 2,048.00 MB
    Available Physical Memory 675.33 MB
    Total Virtual Memory 2.00 GB
    Available Virtual Memory 1.96 GB
    Page File Space 2.40 GB
    Page File C:\pagefile.sys

    I thought maybe it was a pagefile problem....Virtual memory is set at 1536 -3072 MB. Any ideas, maybe something I havent checked?
     
  2. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    Run Task manager and see if it can show what process is locking up, when it occurs?
     
  3. winbob

    winbob

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,370
    Kiwi,

    He better not wait UNTIL it occurs or he won't be able to open Taskmanager :D
     
  4. n7Epsilon

    n7Epsilon

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    318
    Hi,
    By any chance, could you check the temps. on that CPU ?
    Sometimes overheating CPU will freeze up the whole system to prevent the CPU from being fried...
     
  5. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    Total Physical Memory 2,048.00 MB
    Available Physical Memory 675.33 MB
    Total Virtual Memory 2.00 GB
    Available Virtual Memory 1.96 GB
    Page File Space 2.40 GB
    Page File C:\pagefile.sys
    if you have 2gigs of ram why is only 675 of it available
     
  6. blackstar34

    blackstar34 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    --I don't think its a particular program that locks up, the PC might just be idle for a few hours and will be frozen when I come back

    --I thought about the temperature thing, I will try to feel the back of the PC to see if it is wamer then usual next time it happens

    --I'm not sure why only 675 is available? How can I extend this?
     
  7. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,951
    Brite is telling you that something is eating up your ram, or you have a bad stick. Check system information and make sure all your ram is being shown.
     
  8. winbob

    winbob

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,370
    OR he has a boatload of applications opened simultaneously!!! :confused:

    A list of all apps / Tasks would be worth looking at.
     
  9. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    Have you checked the "event viewer"?

    If you have multiple sticks of ram, remove all but one. Test the system.

    If you have a floppy drive, you can run diagnostics on the ram, outside of Windows.

    http://www.memtest86.com/

    http://oca.microsoft.com/en/windiag.asp

    If the ram passes, remove all boards except the video. In the bios, disable any onboard devices. Disconnect the power & data cables from all drives except the hard drive.

    Use the computer, for what you believe to be a typical length of time, during which the PC would have frozen.

    If the PC does not freeze, add drives, onboard devices, cards one at a time. Test.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/326826

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice