Newer PC Freezes Constantly

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

blackstar34

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 25, 2003
Messages
33
Aopen, Windows XP SP2
All updates
amd athlon xp 64 Processor 3000+
2 Ghz
80 gig hd; 1 GB ram


I've run scandisk, its only been here for about 3 months so its not ready to defrag. I've done anti-virus/spyware searches. I have no idea why this PC keeps freezing, it doesn't even happen when someone has 100 programs open either, it will just lock up without warning.

Could this be a problem, I'm looking at System Information and I see:

Total Physical Memory 2,048.00 MB
Available Physical Memory 675.33 MB
Total Virtual Memory 2.00 GB
Available Virtual Memory 1.96 GB
Page File Space 2.40 GB
Page File C:\pagefile.sys

I thought maybe it was a pagefile problem....Virtual memory is set at 1536 -3072 MB. Any ideas, maybe something I havent checked?
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
Run Task manager and see if it can show what process is locking up, when it occurs?
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2004
Messages
3,370
Kiwi,

He better not wait UNTIL it occurs or he won't be able to open Taskmanager :D
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2004
Messages
318
Hi,
By any chance, could you check the temps. on that CPU ?
Sometimes overheating CPU will freeze up the whole system to prevent the CPU from being fried...
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
Total Physical Memory 2,048.00 MB
Available Physical Memory 675.33 MB
Total Virtual Memory 2.00 GB
Available Virtual Memory 1.96 GB
Page File Space 2.40 GB
Page File C:\pagefile.sys
if you have 2gigs of ram why is only 675 of it available
 

blackstar34

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 25, 2003
Messages
33
--I don't think its a particular program that locks up, the PC might just be idle for a few hours and will be frozen when I come back

--I thought about the temperature thing, I will try to feel the back of the PC to see if it is wamer then usual next time it happens

--I'm not sure why only 675 is available? How can I extend this?
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
13,962
Brite is telling you that something is eating up your ram, or you have a bad stick. Check system information and make sure all your ram is being shown.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2004
Messages
3,370
Skivvywaver said:
Brite is telling you that something is eating up your ram, or you have a bad stick.
OR he has a boatload of applications opened simultaneously!!! :confused:

A list of all apps / Tasks would be worth looking at.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Messages
8,256
Have you checked the "event viewer"?

If you have multiple sticks of ram, remove all but one. Test the system.

If you have a floppy drive, you can run diagnostics on the ram, outside of Windows.

http://www.memtest86.com/

http://oca.microsoft.com/en/windiag.asp

If the ram passes, remove all boards except the video. In the bios, disable any onboard devices. Disconnect the power & data cables from all drives except the hard drive.

Use the computer, for what you believe to be a typical length of time, during which the PC would have frozen.

If the PC does not freeze, add drives, onboard devices, cards one at a time. Test.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top