1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

NIC recognized, but no LAN active

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Sedl87, Feb 17, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Sedl87

    Sedl87 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    The onboard NIC on my Asrock Extreme6 Z77 has stopped working. I had recently moved my system in to a newer and better home, and after moving it in to the new case the NIC stopped working. I had originally thought that I may have zapped it, but looking at the device manager I saw that it was enabled and recognized by Windows. So I tried some trouble shooting.

    - Uninstall and re-install drivers.
    - Different cables (5 in total, 3 of which work on other machines)
    - Disable and re-enable.
    - Went out and bought a wireless USB, allowed me to connect to the internet this way.

    Then yesterday it started to work again after not using the computer for most of the day.

    Could play some Battlefield 3, and about 2 hours in to gameplay it stopped working.

    Ran trouble shoot on Windows, something quickly popped up saying something about ip wasn't reconfigured/updated/some BS like that.

    Finished for the night happy it was working again and then came back on tonight and now it's not working again.

    - Updated BIOS.
    - Deleted McAfee
    - Verified it was turned on in UEFI (doesn't show connected in system browser in UEFI)

    (btw, sorry for the wall of text)

    Hopefully this will mean anything, I don't know how to decipher it, really:

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Crosby-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : BC-5F-F4-69-0C-39
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Belkin USB Wireless Adaptor
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : EC-1A-59-27-CF-EB
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::884b:119e:ae9f:1c7c%12(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.17(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, February 17, 2013 8:12:14 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, February 17, 2013 9:12:18 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 334240345
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-93-C2-13-BC-5F-F4-69-0C-39
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.116.2.50
    24.116.2.34
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{E851449F-2E18-467F-A5BE-8B774E181008}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{85D543DA-DEFC-4056-8034-D59007FBEF62}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i assume you are using a USB wireless adapter and able to connect to the internet - correct ?

    try a tcp/ip reset
    also try in safemode with netorking
    and remove mcafee using the removal tool

    see how below

    Safemode with networking
    with a cable connected from PC to router
    check the cable - see if there is a light on the router associated with the cable port used , also check if you have a green/yellow light on the PC LAN port (some PCs do not have any lights on the LAN port - so ignore)
    - try safemode with networking
    as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works

    --------------------------------------------------------------

    Mcafee Removal Tool
    http://service.mcafee.com/FAQDocument.aspx?id=TS101331

    http://majorgeeks.com/McAfee_Consumer_Product_Removal_Tool_d5420.html

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8

    For Windows 8
    to open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.

    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter

    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Access is Denied

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Sedl87

    Sedl87 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Ran the McAfee delete tool, and just did the tcp/ip reset. Gonna reboot now and see if that has worked.

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>netsh winsock reset catalog

    Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
    You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.


    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    Reseting Global, OK!
    Reseting Interface, OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.


    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    Reseting Interface, OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.


    C:\Windows\system32>
     
  4. Sedl87

    Sedl87 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Well the reboot hasn't changed anything.

    Previously when working, the NIC had lights to indicate activity, but neither the cable modem nor computer are showing any activity.

    I've got Ubuntu on a flash drive and see if I still can't use the NIC at that point.
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    has that worked ?

    are these lights on the socket of the PC cable connection - usually yellow and green ?
    and/or on the router connection ?
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1089962

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice