1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Nightmare Build - PLEASE HELP!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jchowanec, Jul 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jchowanec

jchowanec Thread Starter

Hey all,

Context: I've built PCs my whole life. I'm not an expert, but I've NEVER had this much bad luck doing this before.

Build:
    -MoBo: MSI P6N SLI Platinum
    -CPU: E6600 Dual Core Intel
    -PSU: Hiper 580w
    -Vid: EVGA GTS 8800

Problem: Computer will NOT boot to the BIOS (no video signal to the monitor), no beeping of the motherboard and NO LEDs at ALL on the D-Bracket (not red, or green like the manual says -- nothing. No response.) that came with my MSI board. All the case fans and CPU fans spin up, it looks like it has power...? I currently have it on cardboard to prevent any shorting queries. And have installed it with only one stick of RAM (G.Skill DDR2 800 1GB)

Question #1: Is the MoBo dust? MSI's website sucks for information.

More Info: When I power up the system, I see two LEDs on the MoBo -- one green under "main power" and one amber near the CMOS flash. I'm on my 2nd motherboard (first one, a gigabyte was definitely toast...)

Question #2: The ATX12V plug on this Mobo looks a bit strange. There's what looks like a 8-port plug that has a small, removable cover over 4 of the ports. Has anyone seen this before? I don't even know what plug to use. Then again, THIS could be my problem.

Image: [​IMG]

If I could somehow manage it, I would buy you all beer for helping me figure this out. I'm feeling stupider than my parents trying to figure out the iPhone.

Help, help, holy, holy hell, help. I love the idea of this board. I'd just like to get my computer working... :(

Thanks much.

-Chow

2. mclarenvj

mclarenvj

an 8 pin connector?