1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No 32-Bit Color Quality

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by WeEzY-f-BaBy, Sep 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. WeEzY-f-BaBy

    WeEzY-f-BaBy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    I am trying to change my color quality and all I can change it to is Medium (16 bit). There are no other options to change it to. It also says:

    Display:
    (Default Monitor) on

    Related?
     
  2. Shozbot

    Shozbot

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    49
    What do you have for a video card?
     
  3. WeEzY-f-BaBy

    WeEzY-f-BaBy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    I have a NVIDIA Vanta
     
  4. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    Yes, but which NVidia Vanta do you have? :) I believe the 16MB AGP and better provide 32 bit color. Not sure if the 8MB does. Right click on your desktop and choose properties/settings/advanced/and then your adapter tap to help ID what you have.
     
  5. WeEzY-f-BaBy

    WeEzY-f-BaBy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    40
  6. WeEzY-f-BaBy

    WeEzY-f-BaBy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Anyone have any ideas?????
     
  7. lister

    lister

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,993
    You need to reinstall the drivers from the nvidia site or from the CD if you have it.
     
  8. colmaca

    colmaca

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,429
  9. WeEzY-f-BaBy

    WeEzY-f-BaBy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    I downloaded the file you told me and it says:

    The NVIDIA Setup program could not locate any drivers that are compatiable with your current hardware. Setup will now exit.
     
  10. colmaca

    colmaca

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,429
    I see you reinstalled windows have you loaded the chipset drivers?
    you will find at your motherboard makers web site.
     
  11. WeEzY-f-BaBy

    WeEzY-f-BaBy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    I don't think I have. How can I find out my motherboard makers website. If it helps any I have a Compaq Presario Model 5WV270
     
  12. colmaca

    colmaca

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,429
  13. WeEzY-f-BaBy

    WeEzY-f-BaBy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Ok, I downloaded Presario nVidia Unified Graphics Driver for Windows 2000/XP and am installing it. I'll tell you if it worked after reboot.
     
  14. WeEzY-f-BaBy

    WeEzY-f-BaBy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    No luck. I installed it, and rebooted, and still only have the 16 color quality option.
     
  15. WeEzY-f-BaBy

    WeEzY-f-BaBy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Does anyone have any ideas?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/499883

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice