1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No Audio - Asus Mobo and ATI GPU

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Crimsy, Jan 24, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Crimsy

    Crimsy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Vista 64bit
    Asus Rampage Formula motherboard
    HD 4870 X2 GPU

    The sound was fine until recently. Starting a couple of months ago, I would intermittently get no sound after booting up. I would always solve this by disabling AMD High Definition Audio Device under Device Manager.

    A couple of days ago, this no longer worked. Over the last couple of days, I have tried nearly everything; I have uninstalled the drivers for both of the sound controllers and reinstalled them countless times, I have installed Realtek HD sound drivers, reinstalled ATI Catalyst, ensuring that the sound driver is being installed, switched to AC97 in BIOS and then back to HD, but nothing seems to work.

    This is how the sound controllers appear under Device Manager. I don't understand why there are two. I guess the first is the GPU one?

    [​IMG]

    I'd appreciate any help. Thanks.
     
  2. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,119
    It is possible that your sound chip on the mb has failed. There is a very easy and quick way to see if this is the case. Boot the system with a linux live dvd/flash drive. If the sound has problems with linux, then you know the onboard sound has failed. If it works fine under linux, then you know it is a windows/driver problem.

    Use either linux mint or ubuntu linux for the live disk.
     
  3. Crimsy

    Crimsy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Thanks, CRJ. Sadly, the sound did not work in Ubuntu either.

    I have a SupremeFX II card installed, so is that the one I need to replace? And any suggestions for something cheap?
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,854
    First Name:
    Rob
  5. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,119
    If it did not work under linux, then the card has probably failed. Since you are using a real sound card, you do have the onboard sound disabled in the bios/setup correct?

    Before purchasing a new card, remove the card and be sure the slot is clean [blow it out with a can of air] Reinsert the card and be sure it is fully seated. If it still does not work, then either use the onboard sound or purchase a new sound card.
     
  6. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,854
    First Name:
    Rob
    The SupremeFX is an extension of the onboard audio on higher end Asus boards.
     
  7. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,119
    Ops, I thought it was a separate asus card.
     
  8. Crimsy

    Crimsy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Thank you both for your responses and help. I neglected to mention one thing that, in light of the latest development, seems significant.

    I get my sound through my monitor, which is connected to the GPU via HDMI. As a last ditch effort, I plugged the headphones into the back of the tower (into the sound card), and the sound seems fine.

    Does this mean there is a problem with my HDMI cable? I'll try to switch it out soon with another one to see if that's the cause.
     
  9. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,854
    First Name:
    Rob
    Yes, that's an important difference. The HDMI audio uses a different driver, device, and isn't affected by the BIOS settings for the integrated audio.

    The latest HDMI drivers are part of the AMD drivers: http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/desktop/legacy?product=legacy2&os=Windows Vista - 64

    You must also change the default playback device from the integrated motherboard which is generally set as the default to the AMD HDMI device. That is done like this: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/953500

    It could be the cable but it's unlikely if the video still works. Also make sure the audio is enabled in the monitor, volume is turned up and not muted in the monitor, and if possible test the monitor\s audio with another device such as a DVD or BluRay player, Xbox/PS, or cable box.
     
  10. Crimsy

    Crimsy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Thanks for the great suggestions. The HDMI device is greyed out with a status of "not plugged in."

    I'll try a different cable and then try and hook up the monitor to my PS3 to determine the culprit. Once I determine the cause, I'll report back.

    Thanks again.
     
  11. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    111,605
    We received your report wanting to share the solution and thank you for that but since it was malware-related and we don't recommend that users try resolving malware issues on their own we will leave the thread closed with no further postings.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1118360

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice