1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No Audio Device - Tried everything!

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by d3vil_uk, Aug 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. d3vil_uk

    d3vil_uk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Hi,
    I have machine running on Windows XP with SP2. This morning I had a boot error which required me to repair via the Windows CD. This all went fine however I now cannot get audio from my PC.
    When I go into Control Panel/Sounds And Audio Devices it says 'No Audio Devices'. I have googled this error and have been trying various solutions all day with none of them working.

    I have the Realtek High Definition Audio setup, and I have removed all the existing drivers etc and reinstalled via the Motherboard startup CD. This has not worked. I have also tried getting the lastest drivers from the Realtek site, this has also not worked.
    Basically, I have reinstalled every driver etc included DirectX from my Motherboard startup CD and nothing is working. All the software for Realtek High Definition Audio installs fine, but it's just not picking up my Audio Device.
    Can anyone help, as I'm looking at my Windows XP cd now hoping I won;t have to reinstall just to fix this :(
    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Curly

    Curly

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,249
    Is this a pre-made computer, or did you build it yourself?
     
  3. d3vil_uk

    d3vil_uk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    It was a pre-made barebones unit which I just added a hard drive to
     
  4. Curly

    Curly

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,249
    Have you tried searching the manufacturer's website for proper drivers?
     
  5. d3vil_uk

    d3vil_uk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    I have. Tried the site and also the disc that came with the PC and nothing is working. Everything installs ok, I just doesn't pick up an Audio Device :(
     
  6. Curly

    Curly

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,249
    Open up Device Manager. What do you see under Sound, video and game controllers? What happens when you run the Add Hardware wizard? And let's make sure of something: are you sure that your computer either has a sound card installed or integrated audio?
     
  7. d3vil_uk

    d3vil_uk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    In Device Manager I have the following:

    Microsoft UAA Function Driver for High Definition Audio - Realtek 880
    Audio Codecs
    Legacy Audio Codecs
    Legacy Video Capture Codecs
    Media Control Devices
    Video Codecs

    When I install the Realtek drivers from either the site or disc the above 'Microsoft UAA Function Driver for High Definition Audio' chages to 'Realtek High Definition Audio Output'

    Also, the other items listed were added after going through the Add Hardware wizard.

    I think I have intregrated Audio as opposed to a Sound Card. I've checked my BIOS settings and cannot find anything out of place in there
     
  8. Curly

    Curly

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,249
    That is your audio device. And going by what you wrote, I assume you do not see any alerts there.

    Make sure that your speakers in good working order, and that they are powered on and plugged into the proper jack. Open your audio control panel and make sure that nothing is muted.
     
  9. d3vil_uk

    d3vil_uk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Nope, no alerts.

    Speakers all fine, however cannot access the audio control panel as it disppeared when this problem began

    I'll keep playing around and see if I can find a solution!
     
  10. d3vil_uk

    d3vil_uk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Found one!!

    Many thanks to efi from www.d-a-l.com


    >1. From Device Manager (be sure to select View/Show hidden devices), find the 'ISAPNP
    >Read Data Port' device from the System Devices list. (Of note: once I successfully
    >repaired this problem, this device no longer appears.)
    >2. Right click the ISAPNP device, and select "Update Driver"
    >3. Select "Install from a list or specific location"
    >4. Select "Don't search. I will choose the driver to install."
    >5. The step I left out on prior trials: UNSELECT "Show Compatible Hardware"
    >6. Be sure that "(Standard System Devices)" is selected under Manufacturer.
    >7. Under Model, scroll down until you see "Plug and Play Software Device Enumerator".
    >Select this item, and select "Next>".
    >8. You will receive some frightening error message that you should probably disregard.
    >9. Complete the installation of the driver. You will see your device list magically
    >change before your eyes. The other PNP devices will mysteriously become enabled and
    >active. If not, restart.

    This just worked for me. Activated all my Realtek HD Audio devices!

    Many thanks Curly for your help!
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/849369