1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No audio - Mulitmedia Audio controller not configured

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by bigcitydave, Jul 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bigcitydave

    bigcitydave Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    I am running Windows XP and have no audio. In the Device Manager, there is a "Multimedia Audio Controller" that shows a problem. Clicking on it brings up a screen that says it "is not configured properly" (Code 1) Location PCI bus 0, device 31, function 5. It wants to reinstall the drivers but when I click in "Reinstall", the Hardware Update Wizard appears. I chose the automatic reinstall but get a message that "hardware not installed because necessary software is missing". I do not have the original CD. What is this audio controller and can it just be deleted? Could it be the speakers and if so, could I just plug another set in ( are they interchangeable?)
     
  2. bigcitydave

    bigcitydave Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Additional info--Under Sounds and Audio Devices, clicking the Volume Tab reveals all the options are "grayed" and it states "No Audio Device.
     
  3. dts73

    dts73

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    307

    Hiya bigcity,

    Right mate this "should" be pretty simple. All you need to do is go to the website of the manufacturer of your MB.
    If the website has the option choose your Country of Origin ( this really matters as there maybe several versions of any one model sold all over the World).
    Then It may be under support, downloads, drivers, it will almost certainly be under one of those tabs on the home page.
    Once on the driver page locate the download that corresponds to the model of your MB.
    On that page you will see various downloads for many different chipsets and other devices that the MB has onboard.
    Then choose the driver that controls the audio chipset, this could be for example Realtek, and most often than not is.

    If in any doubt what so ever. Find the model of the MB in question and Google it..
    If you're still unsure about loading drivers and are worried in away that it might kill the MB then let us know first mate...

    Happy hunting, all the best, Kev (y)
     
  4. bigcitydave

    bigcitydave Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Hi Kev-

    Is MB Motherboard? I'll get right on it. Thanks
    Dave
     
  5. dts73

    dts73

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    307
    Yes mate it is.
     
  6. bigcitydave

    bigcitydave Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Hey Kev

    Went to the Intel website and downloaded and installed the chipset driver for my Intel 865-PE motherboard but still no sound and the Newly Found Hardware screen comes up right after booting. In the device manager, the Multimedia Audio Controller (whatever that is) still has the yellow exclamation point over it, indicating a problem. Maybe I should just take it out and shoot it.
     
  7. dts73

    dts73

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    307
    It's not Your fault buddy it's mine. I should have been more specific. PM me and we'll sort it out mate.

    Speak to You soon, Kev (y)
     
  8. bigcitydave

    bigcitydave Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Hi Kev
    Didn't know if you got he PM.
    Dave
     
  9. fabsterfab

    fabsterfab

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    SOLUTION: MUTIMEDIA AUDIO DEVICE

    If you went to the manufacturer website for the driver, remember that it is only for the original sounds card they put in that particular model. For instance. If you have a dell 4550 and have the yellow question mark next to Multimedial audio device - make sure you know exactly what kind of sound card you have. I upgraded to a santa cruz when I purchased the computer... The driver on the dell website is not the correct driver. I went to Santa Cruz website and downloaded it.

    This all came from reinstalling XP on my machine. It did not recognize the sound card. Belarc advisor did not tell me what kind of sound card i had since the computer itself could not recognize it. I had to open the computer, take the sound card out and check the brand on the back. One screw a couple wires and you will be in good shape...

    summary : Make sure you download the right driver.
     
  10. bigcitydave

    bigcitydave Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks for the response. I eventually discovered that the sound card was shot and replaced it. No problems since.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - audio Mulitmedia Audio
  1. Amanwiller
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    239
  2. Hamez658
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    345
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/597037

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice