1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

"No Audio Output Device is Installed"

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by annaz123, Dec 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. annaz123

    annaz123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Hello techguys!

    A while back, out of nowhere, I had lost my sound. I have had one of my tech-guy friends take a look at it and he came to the conclusion that I needed an external sound card. So I have been using one. I believe he had also tried to reload the drivers and such. HOWEVER, the other night out of nowhere (again) I HAD SOUND without the external sound card! It was a miracle! Then just as quickly as it had returned it disappeared again leaving the same red "X" over my speaker icon with the "No Audio Output Device is Installed" message...again...But if it is a problem with my internal sound card then how did I get my sound back, even if it was briefly; broken is broken isn't it???

    So, today I have been trying to uninstall and re-install the appropriate audio drivers from HP, as I do have an HP pavilion dv9700. But when I got the the most recent updated drivers I could not "open" them after they had been downloaded. So I went into Control panel and tried to uninstall whatever audio drivers were there. Realtek uninstalled without a problem, but conexant HD audio will not. I right click, hit uninstall, the little loading circle goes for a second or two and then nothing happens. After googling this, it seems that this could be a large variety of things.

    Please help. After getting the sound back and then loosing it, it makes me think there is something fishy going on within my pc.....
     
  2. mmfaris71

    mmfaris71

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    go to control panel then system and click on device manager click on sound from the list the uninstall driver then restart the computer and it will work just try
     
  3. annaz123

    annaz123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    From the Device Manager there is no "sound", So i clicked on system devices>system speaker. Under system speaker properties under "general" the "device status" is "No drivers are installed for this device. "

    Is this was I need to uninstall??
     
  4. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,236
    First Name:
    Cody
    You were right in downloading the latest driver from the manufacturer.

    What is the exact problem you're experiencing when trying to install it?
     
  5. zbd21

    zbd21

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    547
  6. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    6,996
    First Name:
    Jim
    Just as likely the hardware is faulty as it is a driver problem.

    Ensure you are installing the correct drivers. Some models shipped with various hardware, so there are drivers on the website for each model. You likely have Realtek OR Conexant, not both.
     
  7. annaz123

    annaz123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    The exact problem i am having when trying to install is when i try to open the driver after it has been installed nothing happens. The little loading circle next to my mouse goes for about 3 seconds then nothing happens.
     
  8. annaz123

    annaz123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    interesting...because I had both drivers installed. Realtek uninstalled without an issue, yet conexant WILL NOT uninstall.
     
  9. oneSorcerer

    oneSorcerer

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    227
    was your original sound onboard on the motherboard?

    You might have to go into BIOS and disable it, it could be interfering with the new external card. It does sound like it's malfunctioning though. Imo if the external is working nice, disable the old and continue to use that.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1029892

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice