1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

"No Audio Output Device is Installed"

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Bofo, Jul 31, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Bofo

    Bofo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    I recently Upgraded my Hp Laptop to Windows 7. Right after I noticed that I had no Sound. A red x appears Next to the speaker and it says "No Audio Device is Installed"....Please Help this is driving me crazy....:(
     
  2. vicks

    vicks

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    5,144
    Welcome to TSG

    Go into control panel. Click on System, select hardware tab, click on device manager.
    Is there any yellow triangle with an ! or ? in it?
    vicks
     
  3. Bofo

    Bofo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Thank you....

    Yeah there is a yellow triangle On the High Definition Audio Device...
     
  4. vicks

    vicks

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    5,144
    Okay, go back into device manager, right click on the audio device, select properties and remove. Immediately reboot the computer and let Windows find and install the drivers for the hardware.
    This should take care of the problem.
    Post back and let us know how it goes.
    I am shutting down for the night but will check back in the am sometime.
    Good Luck
    vicks
     
  5. Bofo

    Bofo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    I tried it and it said that the High Definition Audio Device failed...And when I go to the High Definition Audio Properties it says on the Driver status box "This device cannot start. (Code 10)"....What else can i try to fix this problem?
     
  6. vicks

    vicks

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    5,144
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/848207

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice