1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No Audio

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by mustang19, Feb 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mustang19

mustang19 Thread Starter

I'm a beginner - Suddenly lost all audio - "speaker" icon on tool bar vanished - control panel/sounds & audio devices/volume tab - says"no audio device" - I get the sounds of Windows XP starting but thats it...no music,video, games sound - when playing a game screen says "exe_err_mss_init_failed_mp" also "no active mixer devices available" -computer less than one year old - any ideas ?

2. Elvandil

Elvandil

Right-click My Computer, manage, Device manager. What do you see under Sound?

3. mustang19

mustang19 Thread Starter

I right clicked /my computer/manage/device manager - under "sound,video & game controllers I got :

audio codes
    legacy audio driver
    legacy video capture device
    media control device
    realtek hi def audio
    video codecs

I clicked each one / "all devices working properly"

Any ideas ?

4. Elvandil

Elvandil

Run PCWizard. Click the Multimedia icon (musical note and speaker). What does it say for "Device Audio", "Audio Playback", and "Audio Recording"?

5. mustang19

mustang19 Thread Starter

Ok... PC Wizard shows under "Device Audio" - 828016(ICH7 Family) Hi Definition Audio

There was no "Audio Playback" or "Audio Recording" in the list.

What next ? I appreciate your help!

6. otzi

otzi

you can install driver card sound ::)

7. techkid

techkid

First Name:
    David
    Is there any devices in Device Manager (from Elvandil's post) with a yellow mark next to them, or a red cross?

8. Elvandil

Elvandil

Go to the Sounds, etc. applet in Control Panel. What is listed as Default Device in the boxes? Can you change these?