1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

no beep---is my motherboard dead?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by mark03, Jan 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mark03

    mark03 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    hi guys,

    I recently installed a new sata 2 drive at my computer. I installed the OS and everything ran smooth.
    Today I started my computer. On the frontpanel all lights came up like usual but inside nothing happened. The fans ran, the light on the mainboard is on but no beep and no boot.
    I tried:
    - reset cmos
    - with and without graphic card
    - removed ram
    -checked all connections

    everytime the same thing: no beep no boot.:mad:

    any help

    Asus P5LD2
    Intel PT4 630 3.0 GHz
    Asus EAX 300
    Seagate Sata 2 80 GB
    Kingston dual ram 1.0 GB
     
  2. mark03

    mark03 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Hi everybody,
    sorry, but I need some help.
    Could someone tell me if that is really a problem of the motherboard and not something else?
    Maybe I didn't make things clear.
    Before a computer starts up there is a beep from the mainboard, if a device is missed there are different beeps. there is no beep and no startup at all at my computer.
    All 5 fans ( incl.CPU fan) at my computer turn on, the light on the motherboard burns as usual and the light at the front panel show up like the computer is booting but no lights turn up at the keyboard. The monitor stays black and nothing else happen.
    All parts of the computer are new. If there were a problem with the PS I don't think that the fan would turn on.
    I tested my monitor at another computer and it worked well.
    I took the ram out piece by piece nothing happend.
    I took the graphic card out and nothing happened.
    So I think there can be only a problem with the motherboard.

    Or do you think there could be something else?
     
  3. Mulderator

    Mulderator

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    51,022
    Could be CPU, processor, or powersupply (even though the power appears to be working). I would try another power supply first before I tried anything else. Then, I would try taking the MOBO out of the case and see if you can get it to boot (to eliminate a grounding problem).
     
  4. mark03

    mark03 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    hi @mulder

    Thanks for your reply. The CPU seems to work because the light at the front panel looks like the computer boots up.
    I'll try to change the PSU first.
    Would you mind explaining me how I can boot a mainboard outside the case. I 've never done this.:confused:
    Just now I've already deinstalled all parts of the computer to build it up new.
    Thanks.
     
  5. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,377
    Here is a troublshooting guide I made for problem builds. It explains how to boot a mb outside of the case. BTW I would go with swapping the ps first also.

    What to do with a “Problem Build”

    First are you getting the board to post [power on self test] If yes follow the first set of instructions

    Board posts however there are lockups, bsod, cannot install windows

    1) Since it posts, check your temps in the bios. It is very difficult to say what a &#8220;Normal&#8221; temp should be since each type of cpu [P4, Athlon, AMD64, etc] has a normal temp. What you should see in the bios is a stable temp of <55C. If the temp is much higher than that, you probably have the heatsink fan installed incorrectly.

    2) If the temps are ok, pull all cards from the system except the video card. Disconnect any peripherals such as printer, scanner, usb hub, etc. Is it stable now? If so you have a problem with a piece of hardware or its driver.

    3) Test the memory with a tester like memtest86. Just because you see a memory test during post means nothing. All that does is check to see if the memory is there. It does not check each memory address. Note this test is run from bootable media ie CD or floppy; there is no need for an operating system to be installed.

    4) Power supply. A modern P4 or AMD64 needs a quality power supply. It is difficult to say what wattage you will need since this is dependant on many things; the number of fans, the number of hard drives you have installed, the type of video card you have installed, amount of ram, etc. A bare minimum would be in the neighborhood of 350W. The power supplies that come with many cases [however not all] are junk. Since modern systems make a very high demand on the 12V rail of the power supply, what you are looking for is something around 20+ amps on the 12V rail. Some good brands of power supplies are Antec, Enermax, Enlight, Sparkle, and some models of Coolmax. There are other quality units, however those are what I use in my builds.


    You assembled the system, and it will not post


    1) Remove EVERYTHING from the case
    2) Set the motherboard on a non conductive surface. The motherboard box is perfect for this. .DO NOT PLACE THE MOTHERBOARD ON THE STATIC BAG! The outside of some of these can actually conduct electricity! We are going to try and assemble a running system outside of the case.
    3) Install the CPU and heat sink.
    4) Install the RAM (only install 1 stick for SDRAM, 2 for RDRAM)
    5) Install the video card. Do make sure the card is FULLY seated.
    6) Connect the monitor to the video card.
    7) Connect the power supply to the motherboard.
    8) Connect power to the power supply
    9) Do NOT connect ANYTHING else. Make sure you have the power connector on the CPU fan connected.
    10) Use a small screwdriver to momentarily short the power switch connector on the motherboard.

    If all is well, it should power up and you should get a display. You now have found you have a mounting problem. The board is shorting to the case. If not, then you most likely have a faulty component. You will need to swap parts with known good units ie power supply, cpu, ram, video card.


    How to mount a new board in a case

    1) Remove the IO plate from the back of the case.
    2) Place the board in the case and use something like a sharpie or a pencil to mark the case where you will need to install the standoffs.
    3) Remove the board and install the standoffs.
    4) Install the IO plate
    5) Place the board on the standoffs and slide it into the IO plate. Secure it with the screws provided with the case.

    Just a reminder do not buy cheap parts!!!
    I have one rule.

    Quality hardware and properly installed software do not lockup, bsod, reboot itself, etc
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/434518

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice