1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No Boot Device Found

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jeverett, Sep 26, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jeverett

    jeverett Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    yeah, me again. Got a Dell PowerEdge server w/2 36G hd. It is running the SIS for this school system, the program is web-based. It was "Supposed" to install an automatic update for the software (PowerSchool) last night. When I got to work this morning, it had frozen, so I tried re-booting. Well, Now it gives me a message saying that "No Boot Device Found, F1 to retry boot F2 to enteru setup. Neitheru option works. It never boots to the point that you can enter the SCSI utility. Also noticed that the HDD access light is constantly staying lit. Dell technical support tried really hard, but we found no solution. What to do now??
     
  2. Lurker1

    Lurker1

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,992
    It sounds like the drive is bad. If you unplug the drives can you get into setup? Is this a SCSI or IDE drive? If its a SCSI drive and you have two try removing one at a time. Be sure to jumper the boot drive to IDE 0.
     
  3. jeverett

    jeverett Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    They are SCSI Hot-swappable drives.
    If you unplug the other drives (floppy, Cd, tape) you can enter the setup, but not the boot order.(the HD doesnt even show up anywhere in the BIOS setup) If you unplug the HDD, you cannot get into the SCSI setup, it keeps giving the same message. I have removed both drives and tried one at the time, still same message. I've re-seated all of the SCSI connections, HDD connections, and preutty much everything else I can think of, but it just will not boot up. The only thing I haven't tried is a boot disk, and I'm on my way now to try that.
     
  4. Lurker1

    Lurker1

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,992
    I am not very familiar with the power edge servers. Which model do you have? On the Dell high end workstations the SCSI drives will not show up in the bios but there is an option to turn the SCSI controller on and off there. There is usually an option to enter the SCSI setup that loads afer the system loads the SCSI Bios.

    Do you have an IDE hard drive and SCSI drives or only SCSI drives?
     
  5. jeverett

    jeverett Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    I do believe it is a 5200. I bought it brand new last year to run only this SIS program, it's really an overkill. I did see the option to turn the SCSI on and off in the bios, and as far as I know, the way I ordered it was with only SCSI hard drives.
    I tried the boot disk and it did boot from it, but when I tried to do an fdisk, or scandisk, it told me there were "No fixed disks present" so I took this to mean that one, or both of the hard drives had gone bad.
     
  6. Lurker1

    Lurker1

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,992
    Well Dell doesn't make a 5200. Has the SCSI utility come up before on boot and now its doesn't? I think some Dell servers have a second SCSI interface in them you can try. You may also want to try a different cable. Is the computer still under warranty. You can go to the Dell site and enter the service tag to find out. Do you have any other computers you can try the drives out in? Finally try running the Dell diagnostics that should be on one of the CDs you have received with your system. Taht may help you find the problem.
     
  7. jeverett

    jeverett Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    My bad, it is a PowerEdge 1500 SC, and yes, it is still under warranty. I've already contacted tech support and a technician is supposed to "contact" me, i hope this means come fix it, today. Yes, the SCSI utility used to pop up on during the boot process, and now it hangs at the error messge i've descsribed above.

    All I can do now it the CD you mentioned and then just wait I suppose... Thanks for all the info though
     
  8. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Sounds like the SCSI controller is bad or a device on the chain is keeping it from getting to the point of accessing the drives. I would unplug all of the ribbon cables from the SCSI controller and try booting one at a time. Did you have any sort of RAID configured on your drives?
     
  9. Lurker1

    Lurker1

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,992
    I agree with Rockn
    You might also try setting all the IDE devices in the bios to none and see if you can get to the SCSI utility.
     
  10. jeverett

    jeverett Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    I tried all of your suggestions, and thanks alot. I didn't get any of them to work though. A Dell service guy came out here and tested it, and found a faulty motherboard. He replaced it and it worked like a charm. I really do appreciate all of the help though, and I'll try to help anyone of you if you need it, believe it or not, I do know a little :D
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/167577

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice