No boot device in Dell Optiplex GX100... in Uganda!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Zdy

Hi
I am wondering if anyone can help me. I am in Uganda where I work as a volunteer and I am helping someone with their computer that was donated to them. It is an old Dell Optiplex GX100.

When we turn it on it says " No boot device available - strike F1 to rety boot, F2 for setup utility."

I can get into BIOS and for all the Primary and Secondary drives it just says "off".

There are not computer support services availalble nearby because we are in the middle of Uganda and there are no installation/boot disks available (although I could possibly download through email if needed)

Anyone able to give help from a distance?

Thanks

Zdy

dai

set them to auto detect the drives in the bios

check the data[wide cable] is plugged in securely at the drive and the m/board

Zdy

set them to auto detect the drives in the bios

check the data[wide cable] is plugged in securely at the drive and the m/board
Thanks so much, I have done that. The cable made no difference but I set Primary Drives 1 and 2 to auto and it now gets into the windows log in screen.

However...
It is taking FOREVER to load. It first shows the MSdos screen where it says "Primary Drive 1 not found" then it goes through a black screen with white dots at the bottom (like a loading screen). Then it starts windows but after a while it goes to a black screen with just the mouse pointer for about 5-10 mins before the final windows log in screen shows. Then the mouse is not working!

What should I do next?

Thanks again

Zdy

Zdy

Hi Dai

Thanks! Sorry to sound stupid but how do I do that when the mouse isn't working?

No there are no disks.. these computers appear to have been donated several times.

Zdy

Zdy