1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No boot from my harddisk

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by dahliorse, Mar 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dahliorse

dahliorse Thread Starter

I have windows XP professional on a 40GB harddisk, but I can't get it to boot up! I'm sure it has something to do with the MBR. The computer is an old compaq, with a floppy A: drive that does not work!
    I'm totally new to this sort of problem, so I'd be really gratefull for clear instructions on how I can get it up and running again.

For example I found a download for a DOS that I can use via the CD drive. However I haven't a clue as to how I can use it to boot up or fix the MBR, if it is indeed possible!

Grateful for any help, advice or suggestions.

2. norton850

norton850

What happens? How far do you get in the boot process? Have you tried safe mode? Any changes made to the computer before this started? The more information you can provide the more it will help solving the problem.

3. dahliorse

dahliorse Thread Starter

Absolutely nothing happens. Just a black screen with a flashing cursor in the top left corner of the screen! I have checked the contents of the hard disk using one of the linux live-cds. As far as I can see all the folders and files are still there. All my personal stuff is there. As far as I can see, all those files which are hidden under windows are visible in linux.

Hope this helps

4. Bob Cerelli

Bob Cerelli

Not sure what boot CD you are using.

But if you think the master boot record is corrupted.

Boot with your XP CD
    Take the first repair option
    Select the # for the installation of Windows - usually 1
    Type in the administrator's password
    Then run FIXMBR

--