1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No cd reformat..... possible?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by blsrect, Nov 13, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. blsrect

    blsrect Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Let's see if you techies can solve this "simple" reformat problem...

    Hello! in dire need of some tech support. So here's the background... I was

    given a Toshiba Satellite A135 running on Windows 7. I got a virus and tried

    to DIY reformat. I DO NOT HAVE THE ORIGINAL WINDOW 7 CD and was only given a

    "burnt copy of windows 7" by a friend.. So i searched online, especially

    utube, searching for how to reformat WITHOUT a cd and decided to follow what

    this guy said (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mME9VLT7-xw&feature=related)...

    The only FILES i backed up were my movies, music, word docs, and pdf's. So

    anything "driver" related i didn't back up.

    i did the whole f8 thing WITH my friends burnt cd inserted (i dont know if

    that makes a difference). If you view the utube video, i got to around 2:10

    and deleted EVERYTHING. First of all there were 3 disk partion options to

    select instead of just one like in the video. So i deleted all three because

    i assumed all 3 were infected. Either way it did not let me progress and i

    forgot what it said, but it gave me an error window stating something about a

    missing screen image.

    So i restarted the whole thing and just like at 1:48 my laptop gave me the

    option to choose the OS i'd like to install. From a loooooooong list i just

    chose the first which is windows 7 Homebasic Activated. I click next, accept

    the license terms and just like in the utube video at 2:07 i choose custom

    (advanced). Now those 3 partitions have reappeared. So i chose "reformat" for

    all 3 (the last partition doesn't allow me to choose any option). So after

    clicking reformat for the top two, i highlight the partition that i think

    said "primary" and click next. At the installing screen copying files were

    completed, but the next step stops and said "windows cannot install required

    files. The file may be corrupt or missing. Make sure all files required for

    installation are available, and restart the installaion. Error code:

    0x80070017".... Considering my situation and my lack of funds to replace the

    windows 7 cd, can anybody help me reformat my laptop? any help is greatly

    appreciated! Oh and sorry if this is in the wrong "topic" section... i jsut

    didn't know where specifically to post this...
     
  2. dukevyner

    dukevyner

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    787
    one thing caught my attention
    ... this is illegal... your trying to install a version of windows that is already activated... activation is a security measure so that only allows you to install the os 3 times... heres an idea look at the windows sticker on the bottom of the laptop try and find the windows 7 iso that matches what the sticker says like "windows 7 home basic" but not one "from a list" or one that is "self-activating' or "activated"... other than this i refuse to assist you in installing an illegal copy of windows
     
  3. dukevyner

    dukevyner

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    787
    p.s. perhaps the error came from the broken illegal copy
     
  4. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Those "extra partitions" are ther equivalent of the Windows DVD. They are the recovery partition and were there for reinstalling Windows. If there are no disks, a copy of the Windows installation will need to be purchased now if the original OS is ever to be reinstalled.

    There is no reason nw to keep those partitions since any changes made to partitions make recovery inaccessible. So delete all the partitions and start from a blank drive.

    Of course if the product key has already been used, then a new licnse for Windows will be needed if it is to be activated. The one on the machine will only work with copies licensed to the manufacturr and not on any retail copies.

    Formatting and partitioning are part of setup. You do it with the DVD. If you can't do it with the DVD, you can't install Windows with that DVD, either.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - reformat possible
  1. gars45
    Replies:
    22
    Views:
    955
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1026671

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice