1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No connecting using PPPoE

Discussion in 'Networking' started by exbattery, Apr 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. exbattery

exbattery Thread Starter

hi

First of all, sorry for my poor english, it's because i'm hungarian. :)

I'm having exactly the same problem. Just before when the problem apperared i was installing linux to another winchester and tried to make internet connection with PPPoE.
    I tried everything - i'm a beginner in linux - even i changed the MTU, as well.
    Anyways, i couldn't make it so i switched it off, changed the hard drive to the Xp's winchester and guess what, Xp is unable the establish Internet connection via PPPoE.

I thought maybe i had killed the network card but yesterday i borrowed another from a friend and it still doesn't want to work.

So now i'll try to do what you guys suggested and will inform you what happened.

2. JohnWill

JohnWill Retired Moderator

Even though it appears you're having the same problem, please start a new thread when you have a new issue. It's very difficult to keep two problems straight and who's working on what in a single thread.

I've created a new thread for your issue here.

Note: You will need to post complete details of your configuration and your specific issue in this new thread for us to help you.

Thanks for your cooperation.

3. Wanderer2

Wanderer2

Please explain what you mean by "changed the hard drive to the Xp's winchester "
    Thanks

4. exbattery

exbattery Thread Starter

Hi from Hungary!
    I have exactly the same problem.
    i tried these 2 comands but the first one (netsh winsock reset catalog) is wrong. At least the prompt says there's no command like this.