No Desktop when I Start Up

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

michael33496

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 3, 2005
Messages
7
Hi. When I start up my computer, the desktop doesn't come up. It just shows the background. There aren't any icons and there isn't a taskbar. The only way I can run a program is by pressing Ctrl + Alt + Delete, going to windows task manager (I use Windows 2000), and then clicking File, New Task (Run...).
What could be the problem and what could I do to fix it? Thank you for your time.
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2004
Messages
52
I've had this done to me before, so that's why I asked. Here's how I fixed it.

Do Ctrl +Alt+ Del, run a task, Type regedit > go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\MICROSOFT\WINDOWSNT\CurrentVersion\ > select Winlogon so that it is highlighted, then on the right side, double click Shell, and make sure the Value Data reads as Explorer.exe.

Restart or log off then back on.... I hope this helps.
 

michael33496

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 3, 2005
Messages
7
I tried it, and it already read Explorer.exe. Thanx for your help tho, and if you have any more suggestions, let me know.
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2004
Messages
52
Im out of idea's...but try and see if Explorer.exe is still located in C:/WINDOWS...if so Im stumped,...got no clue what could be wrong. Im probably way off of the problem.

Sorry I couldn't help
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2004
Messages
52
Nope, just go to C: Drive, and click the WINDOWS folder, then scroll down and Explorer.exe should be there, if not, locate it and place it in there.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
231
Your computer by chance doesn't think you have two desktops, and the second destop is considered the primary? this could explain why nothing shows up on your monitor.
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2004
Messages
52
Ohh sorry I wasn't paying attention, you're using Windows 2000.
Im not sure where Explorer.exe should be on that kind of OS.
 

michael33496

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 3, 2005
Messages
7
Any more help? I have no taskbar, nothing. I can only run programs by pressing ctrl+alt+delete and hitting run new task.
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2005
Messages
896
not sure what is happening here but all the complex answers were gived so i will have to give something simple


did you press the windows key (in betewwn the ctrl and alt)



 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top