1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No Desktop!

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by darkrites668, Sep 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. darkrites668

    darkrites668 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    104
    my wallpaper loads, but nothing else...i can bring up the task manager, but it has no options/tabs...i can still access my files from another computer via network.
     
  2. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    What version of Windows are you using?

    Does the desktop appear in Safe Mode?
     
  3. darkrites668

    darkrites668 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    104
    im using windows ME, and the same thing happens in safe mode (only the wallpaper loads)
     
  4. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    I did some searching on Google...came across this...

    Desktop Icons and Taskbar Are Missing

    Affected Products: Software, System CDs
    Affected Operating Systems: Windows® 98 , Windows® 98 SE,
    Windows® Me

    ISSUE: After starting Microsoft® Windows® 98 or Windows
    Me, the taskbar is missing and there are no icons. When
    starting Windows, the taskbar may flash on for a brief
    second and then disappear. The only display visible is the
    background wallpaper and the mouse cursor. Pressing
    CTRL+ALT+DELETE brings up the Close Program dialog box,
    but selecting End Task on the items on the list may not
    have an effect. When the computer is started into Safe
    mode, the issue still occurs. Running Scanreg /Restore
    does not resolve the issue.

    There have been several reports that the issue occurred
    when restarting the computer after receiving a dialog box
    that displays "Virus/spyware found. Do you wish to
    remove?" or "Do you want to install Spyware Monitor?" The
    dialog box only has Yes or No selections, and selecting
    either can cause the issue. There is no X to close the
    dialog box, however pressing CTRL+ALT+DELETE to bring up
    the Close Program dialog box lists a "Remove found
    spyware?" entry, which can be end tasked.

    (1) Press CTRL+ALT+DELETE, & click Shut Down.

    (2) After the computer has been shut down, turn on the computer. Hold
    CTRL as you boot for the Startup Menu, or begin pressing the F8 key in
    one-second intervals. If you complete this step successfully, the
    Microsoft Windows Startup Menu is displayed. If no menu is displayed and
    Windows starts up normally, repeat this step.

    (3) At the Microsoft Windows Startup Menu, use the ARROW keys to select
    "Command Prompt Only", and then press the ENTER key.

    (4) At the command prompt, type:
    EDIT C:\Windows\System.ini
    Press ENTER.

    (3) In the C:\Windows\SYSTEM.INI file, locate the line of text under the
    [boot] section that lists "Shell=Explorer.exe". This is typically the
    third line in the file.

    (4) Edit the "Shell=Explorer.exe" line by deleting the "Explorer.exe"
    text and replacing it with "Winfile.exe". The line should list the
    following:
    Shell=Winfile.exe

    (5) To save the changes, press the ALT+F keys.

    (6) A menu displays in the upper left corner of the screen. Press the X
    key to exit.

    (7) Press ENTER to save the changes and return to the command prompt.
    (TAB would move you to the next button.)

    (8) At the command prompt, restart the computer by pressing the
    CTRL+ALT+DELETE keys. Once Windows has restarted, it starts into the
    Windows File Manager (Winfile.exe).

    (9) In the File Manager window, double-click "progra~1" in the left hand
    window to open the Program Files folder.

    (10) Double-click "intern~1" in the left hand window to open the
    Internet Explorer folder.

    (11) Double-click "setup" in the left hand window to open the Setup
    folder.

    (12) In the File Manager window, double-click "Setup.exe" in the right
    hand window to launch Internet Explorer setup.

    NOTE: If the setup folder is not available, Internet Explorer has not
    been updated and a previous version of Internet Explorer cannot be
    restored. You cannot use this method. Close "Winfile", shut down, & post
    back, or try the URL at the very bottom of this post, which is an
    over-install of IE.

    (13) In the Internet Explorer 6 and Internet Tools Setup window, click
    OK.

    (14) In the Setup Message dialog box, click Yes to restore the previous
    version of Internet Explorer.

    (15) Internet Explorer setup removes components.

    (16) In the Internet Explorer 6 and Internet Tools - Restart Windows
    dialog box, click Restart Windows.

    When the computer is restarting, hold CTRL for the Startup Menu, or
    begin pressing the F8 key in one-second intervals. If you complete this
    step successfully, the Microsoft Windows Startup Menu is displayed. If
    no menu is displayed and Windows starts up normally, repeat this step.

    (17) At the Microsoft Windows Startup Menu, use the ARROW keys to select
    Command prompt only, and then press ENTER.

    (18) At the command prompt, type:
    EDIT C:\Windows\System.ini
    Press ENTER.

    (19) In the C:\Windows\SYSTEM.INI file, locate the line of text under
    the [boot] section that lists "Shell=Winfile.exe". This is typically the
    third line in the file.

    (20) Edit the "Shell=Winfile.exe" line by deleting the "Winfile.exe"
    text and replacing it with "Explorer.exe". The line should list the
    following:
    Shell=Explorer.exe

    (21) To save the changes, press the ALT+F keys.

    (22) A menu displays in the upper left corner of the screen. Press the X
    key to exit.

    (23) Press ENTER to save the changes and return to the command prompt.
    (TAB would move you to the next button.)

    (24) At the command prompt, restart the computer by pressing the
    CTRL+ALT+DELETE keys

    (25) Windows starts to a blue screen, but will still be
    accessing the hard drive for a period of time. When
    finished, Windows is on the desktop with icons, but an
    older version of Internet Explorer is installed. You
    should update your antivirus software, and then perform
    Windows Update to install a new version of Internet
    Explorer again.
     
  5. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
  6. darkrites668

    darkrites668 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    104
    All i have is the recovery disk, and i tried choosing the command prompt option, and i wouldnt let me type. I can type in safe mode command prompt, but the commands dont work. Cheeseball81's post described what happened to my comp though.
     
  7. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    Have you tried the other option of getting into Command Prompt?

    I believe it's Start, Run, type COMMAND and hit OK.
     
  8. darkrites668

    darkrites668 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    104
    i would, but the start menu doesnt come up, just the wallpaper and mouse
     
  9. darkrites668

    darkrites668 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    104
    is there anything i can do through my main comp, since i can get to my laptop files through my network?
     
  10. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    You can create a WinME boot disk from the OEM WinME version on this site. Do not download it directly to a floppy. Download it to the hard drive you are using. Put a floppy disk in the drive and then run the setup to copy the files to the floppy.

    Then follow the directions in the link I posted. You do not need a Windows CD or recovery disk to run system restore.

    http://bootdisk.com/bootdisk.htm
     
  11. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,793
    http://www.onecomputerguy.com/desktop.htm#restore_desktop

    Restoring a Lost Desktop

    Submitted 3/15/00

    If you ever lose the Desktop but Explorer is still running with the Start Button,
    you can do this to bring back your Desktop in a Windows box.

    1. Click Start
    2. Click Run
    3. Type a period " . "
    4. Then press Enter
     
  12. darkrites668

    darkrites668 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    104
    I would, but there is no start menu
     
  13. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Have you tried following my instructions?
     
  14. darkrites668

    darkrites668 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    104
    The website was down when I last tried to go there, but it is back up now. Im going to try now
     
  15. darkrites668

    darkrites668 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    104
    Thanks Rog, my computer loads again. still having trouble with pop-ups, but i posted a new thread for that.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/270991

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice