1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No digital output on Windows 7-64 (Realtek HD Audio)

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Danzoc, May 24, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Danzoc

    Danzoc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Good evening, folks!

    I've recently bought an ASUS notebook, model K45a. After a few days, I upgraded from Windows 7 to Windows 8, but I didn't like it, so I formatted it and reinstalled Windows 7 64 bits.

    I've installed all the preferred drivers from the asus website, but there is no digital output! I got the newest Realtek Audio driver, and no digital output option available.

    I've been to Control Panel > Hardware & Sound > Sound > Manage sound devices and right-clicked to select "show disabled devices" and "show disconnected devices" (sorry if it's not 100% accurate, I'm using a portuguese Windows version and trying to translate it accordingly) and nothing.

    All I get is the speakers, no digital option, which means no 5.1 signal through both spdif or hdmi to my home theater. :( When I open Realtek HD Manager, it only displays the analog jacks.

    Any thoughts on this?

    Thank you!
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,127
    First Name:
    Frank
  3. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,901
    First Name:
    Rob
    The graphics driver usually provides the support for HDMI Audio. Try reinstalling the Intel Graphics driver, maybe try the one off the Intel site if reinstalling the Asus one doesn't work.
     
  4. Danzoc

    Danzoc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Thank you for your prompt suggestions, guys!

    I've already have installed the current chipset driver, and have just downloaded the newest Intel Graphics HD 4000 driver from the intel website... still no digital output option! :(

    Just to clarify some things: I can get audio playing via HDMI, the thing is, it's only stereo 2.0, I don't have the option to change it to a 5.1 sound.
     
  5. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,901
    First Name:
    Rob
    Well that's completely different. Digital Audio and 5.1 channels are not the same thing nor are they dependent on each other. You can have 2 channel audio digital audio or have 5.1 channels over analog output.

    If you go to Sounds in the Control Panel does it show you the HDMI device? Can you check the properties there? You may also be able to adjust some settings in the Intel software, you should have an Intel HD Graphics in the System Tray or by right clicking on the desktop.

    Also, what does the audio receiver report as the input? Does it show a 2 channel or a 5.1 channel signal?
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1099639

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice