1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No Disk Managerment ?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Boothbay, Nov 11, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Boothbay

    Boothbay Account Closed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    835
    I have Win 7 Premium and clicked on My computer/Manage and get a message that it could not find Computer Management.ink...make sure you typed the name correctly and then try again. I didn't have to type anything...i just clicked on Manage...i need it to format my external hard drive.
     
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    You don't need Disk Management to format. Use Explorer and right-click or the command line.

    Try Start > Run:

    diskmgmt.msc

    for Disk Management.
     
  3. Boothbay

    Boothbay Account Closed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    835
    OK, that is done and now a new problem...maybe it has to do with different versions of Win 7. Like I said i have preinstalled Win 7 Home Premium. At the outset when i bought this net book, acer strongly suggested that i make what they call Recovery Management copy. I just bought an external enclosure with a 40 gig ( actually ) 37 gig hard drive extra that i had in my desktop. It suggests to go to start/Acer/Acer erecovery Management. ..once there click Restore tab and that is where i was stopped...there is no Restore tab for me to enter "restore operating system to factory defaults." It seems like different versions have a different way getting at the same path. l am not looking for system restore..More researching says to click on Alt + F10 as soon as i boot up and it would take me directly there where it should offer me to make that recovery disk default...guess what...nothing appears...This is frustrating you have Win 7, but its akin to small coke, medium coke, large coke and jumbo coke...each coke has its specialty....disgusted.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,882
    First Name:
    Terry
    More likely that's as soon as you power on--if it starts to boot into Windows you missed it. And, few of us are lucky or good enough to hit it with one shot, so hold the Alt key and tap the F10 several times.
     
  5. Boothbay

    Boothbay Account Closed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    835
    I waited till I entered my password as administrator...will try your suggestion thanks
     
  6. Boothbay

    Boothbay Account Closed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    835
    I got it after the screen said starting windows...now another question...it does offer the erecovery to default, but says it i chose to, it would destroy whatever i have on my C drive....Now, i do not want to do this on the same pc...i am trying to do it to my external HD...makes one nervous if i chose that offer...do you know if i do pick that option i would get the offer to do it to an external drive?
     
  7. Boothbay

    Boothbay Account Closed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    835
    No, i checked it out and it is only offering me to do it to the existing hd...this is crazy. In the pfd that came with this net book says it could be done via an external hard drive...so where is that option? If i want to do a backup, there they do offer you options...don't know where to go from here.
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,882
    First Name:
    Terry
    What are you trying to do? It now sounds to me that you are trying to protect against the possibility of losing your hard drive, or at least the ability to boot to the Recovery partition. If this were a typical notebook there would be an Acer function to create a set of Recovery DVDs (or CDs). Since, I assume, you have no optical drive perhaps there is an Acer function to create another bootable Recovery partition on an external drive.

    If this is what you are trying to do, I do not know exactly what the function would be called, but doubt that it would say "restore." It's probably in that "start/Acer/Acer erecovery Management" but a different tab.
     
  9. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Rather than making recovery disks, which have limited ability to actually help you in a disaster, why not make a full drive backup? Then, you can restore everything, even if your drive fails. It is better than any recovery CD and it backs up everything including Windows so you could get everything back even when your hard drive fails (like when you drop the netbook, ever so gently, but hard enough.....).

    Since you have an external, you could even back up regularly so you don't lose recent work, and even burn a recovery from the drive to DVD with your basic stuff on it for a return to where you are now.

    Free drive backup software (imaging, cloning, and archiving):

    Paragon Backup & Recovery (Recovery boot CD or USB key)
    Macrium Reflect (Free)
    O&O Disk Image Express
    Easeus Todo Backup
    Redo Backup & Recovery (Boot CD)
    Comodo Time Machine (Complete system, files, programs, and settings restoration, but not "bare-metal" for failed drive)
    Clonezilla Live (A bootable CD of Debian with Clonezilla.)
    Drive Image XML
    PING (Partimage is not Ghost) (Boot CD with option Clam Antivirus)
    Partition Saving
    Clonezilla

    There are also many commercial products with more features.
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,882
    First Name:
    Terry
    If the netbook has no optical drive, and if Boothbay does not have an external optical drive, will any of those products create a bootable external drive?
     
  11. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    I don't know specifically. If any do, I'd expect it to be Macrium since it seems to copy Acronis so closely. Bootable USB drives are probably a better idea. The Paragon product has an option to make a bootable USB key.

    But Acronis and Macrium have the "Safe Zone" (various names) option where a copy of the program is installed on the hard drive in a secure partition. That can be booted by pressing a key (F11?) at boot time and gives the full recovery CD program. That doesn't help with a failed drive, of course, so some other bootable device is better.

    When I work on netbooks, I boot from an external CD-ROM. That has always worked so far.

    Good question worth exploring. Thank you.

    (Of course, all the boot CD's can be made into bootable USB keys using something like BootIce to write the MBR, PBR, and boot files to the key. But not everyone will be equipped to do that.)
     
  12. Boothbay

    Boothbay Account Closed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    835
    When I bought this net book, 2 months ago, Acer support strongly suggested that i make a backup copy of the OS, either by cd burning or external hard drive. I finally bought an enclosure ( didn't know about them at that time ) and removed one of my hard drives from my desktop which i was using for storage. Now, I made a phone call to Acer and they now say that i cannot make a copy via ext. hd, only to a cd burner....also, if i want support on how to get Aero to work i have to pay for that support. ..wow...even on a 1 year warranty, they ask you to pay...last time i ever buy anything of Acer again. I like Elvandil's idea of making a full backup of my OS via ext hard drive, which in a sense is similar to recovery, ...the only thing that concerns me, maybe i lose something in that process which prohibit me to reinstall it, otherwise why wouldn't Acer suggest it? BTW, my hard drive is only 40 gig ( 37 ) and i hear conflicting statements of the need for 100 gig size in order to copy it.
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,882
    First Name:
    Terry
    Are you talking about imaging an exact copy of your installed system (as Elvandil recommended) or a copy of the Recovery partition (to "recover" to factory defaults)?

    Whether or not you image your system it is a good idea to create a set of Recovery DVDs (or CDs). Even if you never intend to use them, someday you might decide to sell, gift or donate the machine, and putting a clean Windows on is a nice touch I think.

    Macrium Reflect Free images are condensed, and probably every other application in Elvandil's list also condenses. So, whatever space your system is currently taking is a very generous upper limit on the size of an image.

    EDIT: Cloning would take the same size partition.

    If Aero did not work "out of the box" on a PC purchased new with Windows 7 Home Premium installed that is something that they most certainly should fix, as it is probably a hardware fault.
     
  14. Boothbay

    Boothbay Account Closed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    835
    Are you talking about imaging an exact copy of your installed system (as Elvandil recommended) or a copy of the Recovery partition (to "recover" to factory defaults)?>>>

    What are the differences? They recommend recover to factory default.
    As for Aero, the phone support is laughable if one has a sense of humor about this...after asking a question they say..."Could you please hold for 2 minutes while i research or ask someone about it??" They are hiring people who don't know anything about the system that they have to pause and ask their superiors, or check their support on their TV. If I can make a successful copy via my external HD, then I could hot swap it into my desktop that does have a cd burner...btw, they say you would need a few cd disks to make it complete...which again brings up that problem...how big in size are they talking about? I have DVD disks which says on it 4 X 2 hrs, whatever that means...never used them,
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,882
    First Name:
    Terry
    If you make a system image immediately after your first boot of the new computer there is almost no difference from the factory default image (Recover partition). As you change settings, add data files, install programs, remove bloatware, etc., your system diverges from the original install.

    For my HP Home Premium 64-bit the set of Recovery DVDs is three discs. I think it would take about two dozen CDs.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1026458

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice