No Display Lenovo Thinkpad

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Dillon9

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 22, 2017
Messages
10
Hey everyone,
I recently ran into the issue that the backlight on my Lenovo Thinkpad W520 for the display wont light up ( i took the LCD and shined a flashlight behind it to ensure that it was being digitized which it was). It worked fine one day until I turned on the laptop and the screen was black. I have reseated all the RAM, bought new cables for the display, a new inverter for the display, and even a new screen. I have unplugged the CMOS battery to reset the BIOS, and tried holding the power button for long amounts of time with the battery and power cord disconnected. Holding the power button down and restarting fixed my Thinkpad T410 when the same issue happened 3 times before, but it wont fix this issue. All of this never happened on the T410 for the 2 years I had Windows 7 on it but now both machines run Windows 10 Pro. I removed the hard drive from the W520 just in case it was a problem with the drive. Also I am testing the screen with the laptop display assembly disassembled. Please help, I am lost as to what I can do.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
4,020
Does it work on an external monitor? If no, the embedded graphics controller may be the problem.
 

Dillon9

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 22, 2017
Messages
10
Yes the vga monitor i have displays once the computer boots up to the login screen.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
4,020
Does it show two Diosplay devices in the CMOS/BIOS Display area. For example:

Boot Display Device: [ThinkPad LCD]
Graphics Device: [NVIDIA Optimus]

If so, try switching the first one to "NVIDIA Optimus" and then see if you can now see everything, from power-on on up into Windows on the external monitor. If so, that would indicate a problem with the ThinkPad LCD.
 

Dillon9

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 22, 2017
Messages
10
I can't switch Display Device to NVIDIA Optimus. When the Graphics device has discrete graphics selected, I can boot up viewing thee entire sequence on the VGA monitor and when I finally get to windows login, the laptop screen becomes digitized so that I can see the mouse but still not lit up with the backlight. The LCD is also brand new .
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
4,020
Sounds like the back-light fuse on the motherboard may be blown? If so, a new one can be soldered on top, piggy-back style, over the old one.
 

Dillon9

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 22, 2017
Messages
10
I found F1. Its under the motherboard under the top right part of the black plastic insulation plastic for anyone else wondering. Do you know the rating of it. I used my multimeter to check if it was good and i couldn't get anything other than open (blown). I just dont knw the fuse rating.
 

Dillon9

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 22, 2017
Messages
10
I did a little research and found that the fuse is either .5 amps at 32 volts or 3amps at 32 volts. Does one of these sound correct?
 

Dillon9

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 22, 2017
Messages
10
Thanks fo your help so far. The fuses are on order and will be coming after January 5. I will let you know when I have them and have tried them out.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top