1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No Display on screen

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by dark_blood, Apr 21, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dark_blood

    dark_blood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    96
    I have just built a new pc for the girlfriend. i have connected everything thing up as normal but when i boot the pc up i get no display on screen. i have tryed connecting to a different monitor, it did not work.

    When booting up, the hard drive and the DVD drive work, the 2 case fans work and the CPU fan works.
    The light on the motherboard is green to say it is on.
    I have also tryed the graphics card in my PC and it works fine.

    Motherboard: Asus M4a78
    CPU: Phenom II X4 955BE
    Ram: OCZ DDR 800 2gb (2x1gb)
    PSU: 400W (old)
    Graphics: 7100GS (pci-e)

    The Hard drive is a IDE maxtor, and the dvd drive i unknown.

    One of my ideas is that the PSU may not be giving out enough power for the 125W CPU and the other compnents.
     
  2. olryst

    olryst

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    277
    Have you tried clearing the bios and also try powering it up with only 1 stick of ram inserted incase the ddr votage needs raising in bios.
     
  3. replay

    replay

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5,542
    did u plug in the 4 pin power?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. dark_blood

    dark_blood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    96
    Yes i have connected it.

    I am going to do what olryst suggested tonight when i leave Uni.
     
  5. dark_blood

    dark_blood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    96
    i am now home and have tried what you suggested and still did not work
     
  6. replay

    replay

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5,542
    what brand psu?.......try another one
     
  7. dark_blood

    dark_blood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    96
    it is a unbranded as far as i can tell. i think i will go buy new one.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/918333

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice