1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No ethernet port in new modem

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by devil, Nov 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. devil

    devil Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    670
    All along i was using a modem with an ethernet port and i was running an access point from this to the other end of the house because of wi-fi issues, anyway i`ve had to change the modem and my isp sent me a new modem without an ethernet port even though i specifically asked for one with an ethernet port. Apparently they don`t do them anymore. The new modem has a
    micro B usb slot.
    Can i get a micro B usb to ethernet adapter and then run the access point from that and will it work?
     
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    I doubt that will work. It's USB and transmits data on the USB protocol, not TCP/IP. You'd better get a different modem. The only other way I can see it working is with the modem connected to one machine that has 2 network cards and then using connection sharing. Some routers may have USB ports (but I'm only saying that because it makes sense, not because I have seen one).
     
  3. devil

    devil Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    670
    The only way i can connect the modem to the pc is via wireless.
     
  4. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    The modem has wireless capabilities but no ethernet ports? That seems highly unlikely. I think you're confusing your modem and router.

    If you keep the USB modem, you'll have to use internet connection sharing through one of your computers which you'll need to leave on all the time. Otherwise you need to get a different modem. Who's your provider that's saying they don't offer ethernet modems?
     
  5. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    What's the make and model of modem?

    If you have wireless, then why do you even need ethernet ports?
     
  6. devil

    devil Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    670
    It`s a Huawei Webcube B153 router. The reason i need ethernet port is so i can run an access point to the other end of the house, my house is old and the wi-fi won`t travel far enough and where the router is placed is where i get the maximum speed from the router. The isp is 3. They do one with ethernet ports but they`ve all been recalled for software problems and the webcube is the new one they`re using and it doesn`t have ethernet ports.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1027082

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice