1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No handshake from modem to AOL (only)

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by nloney, Jan 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. nloney

    nloney Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    I've recently reformatted my computer (Windows ME) and reinstalled AOL 8.0. My modem seems to be working fine (i can dial my cell phone and also microsoft referral) and it dials when i try to sign on to AOL, but it won't "handshake'
    It did this last time I reformatted, and I finally got it working, but cannot remember what i did to fix it. Any suggestions? I've checked every setting i can think of, and i'm just exhausted thinking about it!
    HELP???? :confused:
     
  2. nloney

    nloney Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Tried uninstalling and reinstalling the modem drivers AND aol again last night and still no luck. Can anyone help? :( :( :(
    PS. I'm on Dialup, still. I know, I know....
     
  3. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    Hi and welcome :)

    Start the AOL software.
    On the AOL Sign-On Screen, click Setup and then click Expert Setup.
    Click on the Devices tab, choose your modem from the list and click Delete.
    Exit the AOL software and restart it again. AOL will attempt to auto-detect your modem, then try to connect to AOL again.
     
  4. nloney

    nloney Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    I think I tried this once, but it might have been before the last re-format I did. I will try it tonight and let ya'll know what happens. Thank you so much!!!!!! :cool: :)
     
  5. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    You're welcome :)
     
  6. nloney

    nloney Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Didn't work. :-(
    Talked to AOL, they said evidentally it's a problem with my computer, something about the Dial-up-Networking.
    Um, oooook....never had this problem in the past 5 years that I've had this computer.....but they must know, right? (Pardon the sarcasm....):(
     
  7. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    If you go to Control Panel > double click on Network
    Is the AOL Adapter, AOL Dial Up Adapter listed there?
     
  8. nloney

    nloney Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    I'll check tonight!
    Thanks, you're very helpful. Ha, MUCH more helpful than the AOL techs!!!!!
     
  9. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    LOL thanks :)
     
  10. nloney

    nloney Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    They weren't there. There were other ones (TCP/IP I think), but nothing AOL.
    (Man, this is difficult, the only place I can post and read this site is when I'm at work, but then I have to go home to see what the scoop on my poor 'puter is)
    Any suggestions on how to get it there or if they should or should not be there?
    I'm about to just give the thing a pitch out the front window, lol!
     
  11. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    If they aren't there, it almost sounds like the software isn't fully installing. The adapter should be created when you install AOL.

    Take a look here: http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=244646
    See if any of those options help.
     
  12. nloney

    nloney Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Cheeseball, my hero, help me please!
    Ok...so I tried everything suggested, and even tried a couple things the AOL tech guy had emailed me. Nothing worked. I figured, since my 'puter was ancient, it was about time for a new one anyhow. So, I went out and bought a new one! This one has Windows XP and all sorts of memory and hard drive space. Weee!
    BUT....
    I'm having the SAME EXACT problem!!!!! Am I just jinxed or what?
    It's like there's something blocking my computer from handshaking AOL...or AOL won't let it handshake. I don't get it!
    Any more suggestions? I'm so frustrated I actually cried over this Saturday!!!! :-(
     
  13. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    Are you still trying to install the same copy of 8.0? Maybe it's a bad copy.
    It's possible the software is corrupted on that CD.
     
  14. nloney

    nloney Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Nope, I tried installing what was already on the new computer (9.0 Limited Edition). Then uninstalled that and installed off a totally different 9.0 Optimized disc I had. :(
     
  15. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    Wow, that is weird. Did you check to see if the Adapter was installed again?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - handshake modem (only)
  1. IanHaines
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    752
  2. ToKnowOrNot
    Replies:
    13
    Views:
    402
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/437187

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice