No HDD in Bios after factory reset

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

dkRacineWI

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
3
Sony Vaio running Vista Home Premium. Was having some issues so decided to restore complete system from recovery discs. Got a licensing error the MS couldn't fix and suggested to restore system again. Did and it booted up fine, then shut down with "no operating system found" error. Went into bios and no hard drive. Can't even try another system restore from recovery disc because I get an error of insufficient room on the c drive.

What the hell have I done and what can I do, PLEASE???
dk
 

dustyjay

Jay
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
12,661
It could well be a failed hard drive. A computer having Vista Home Premium on it, is bound to be several years old, and hard drives do not last forever. If you can identify the manufacturer of the HDD you can go to their Support Site and download the Diagnostic Software, make a bootable disc and test the hdd
 

dkRacineWI

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
3
Yep, purchased it in 2008.

Is there a way to find hard drive manufacturer without be able to get in the system?
dk

Thanks for your quick reply and any help.
 

dkRacineWI

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
3
You know, when I did the system recovery, I did do both a RAM and an HD test and both came back without error.

So, I guess if I'm gonna take it apart, I might as well replace the hd.

Thanks for your time.
dk
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
I would get hold of something like a Live Linux CD(I use Puppy) or the Ultimate Boot CD and boot from the CD.
You should then be able to test your disk.
 

plodr

Liz
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
23,957
The errors are conflicting:
1. no operating system found - seems to indicate it is looking at something where an OS would be installed
2. BIOS not showing hard drive? Missing or disabled?
3. error of insufficient room on C - which indicates it sees a drive C.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top