1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

no input to monitor

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by DelVecchio37, Nov 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. DelVecchio37

    DelVecchio37 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    I have a hp m9040n running vista home premium. The problem started when I started using my big screen for a monitor. I decided to do a factory restore and when I did pc crashed halfway through. now I get no display to monitor any monitor. I have upgraded the power and replaced graphics card with same kind still nothing. so I replaced motherboard and processor with same replacements still nothing. iv tried resetting cmos battery and using the jumpers. pc turns on but no display, monitor immediately goes to sleep. I have no idea why pc is not outputting to monitor. im no computer expert and don't know anymore options please help. the fact that I was running my recovery discs when this happened may be contributing to the prob but i have no idea.
     
  2. pip22

    pip22

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,536
    Did you manage to repeat the factory recovery without the PC crashing halfway through the process?
     
  3. DelVecchio37

    DelVecchio37 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    no I was unable to. I can not see my display
     
  4. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,000
    First Name:
    Jay
    Can you install using a normal monitor ???
     
  5. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,000
    First Name:
    Jay
    Also, Sometimes ... The HP recovery will not work if it sees a foreign system on the HDD.
    You have to erase the HDD .. Then reinstall.
    If your new MOBO wasn't tattooed for the HP OS .. It won't work
     
  6. DelVecchio37

    DelVecchio37 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    what is a normal monitor out tried the vga analog dvi usb and hdmi . I thought I might need to install windows on new mono recovery cds wont work but how do I do so if I can't see
     
  7. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,000
    First Name:
    Jay
    I'd guess that vga or hdmi would be normal ... You didn't say how the wide screen was connected.
    Some Video outs have to be seen at bootup to work.
    You might have to try another monitor to see if it might be the problem.
     
  8. DelVecchio37

    DelVecchio37 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    o I see what u meant. ya I stopped using my big screen tv before I originally tried the recovery discs Iv tried another monitor no use and my monitor works fine on over pcs. im stumped
     
  9. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,000
    First Name:
    Jay
    Sounds like you've changed everything .. As I set here scratching my head ...
    I'm wondering if the Tower/Monitor is Plugged into the wall .. And if you're using the old Monitor cable
    Duh75.gif
     
  10. DelVecchio37

    DelVecchio37 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    ya its plugged in. when I replaced everything I got the same parts except power I upgraded that. ya I have no idea
     
  11. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,000
    First Name:
    Jay
    Where's you get the Mobo ... It has to be from HP to work ..
    And even then it might have to be tattooed for the HP OS to work.

    But you should still see something .. And even be able get into the Bios
     
  12. DelVecchio37

    DelVecchio37 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    really. I jus got it from ebay they said it was pulled from pc and upgraded right away its the same model I tried contacting hp but they don't sell that one anymore. it looked brand new when I got it how would I know if its been tattooed
     
  13. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,000
    First Name:
    Jay
    Not really sure .. I think you'll be able to recover it from the CDs ..
    But when you try to update it .. It will require registration and think it's an illegal system.
    HP's system must see a tattooed Mobo .. And you won't have to input a system serial number.
    The serial number on the side of the case will also not work with the HP recovery CD/DVDs if the mobo isn't tattooed.

    HP's OS is married to the Mobo ..
    Sure glad my wife didn't insist on me getting tattooed :D
     
  14. DelVecchio37

    DelVecchio37 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    thanx for the help I might try to switch the mobo back to the original but use the new processor and video card and see if that works. my old graphics card definitely was bad the fan was melted and could no longer move. but when I replaced just the card it still didn't work. maybe it was the card processor combo. we will see
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1025986

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice