no input to monitor

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

DelVecchio37

I have a hp m9040n running vista home premium. The problem started when I started using my big screen for a monitor. I decided to do a factory restore and when I did pc crashed halfway through. now I get no display to monitor any monitor. I have upgraded the power and replaced graphics card with same kind still nothing. so I replaced motherboard and processor with same replacements still nothing. iv tried resetting cmos battery and using the jumpers. pc turns on but no display, monitor immediately goes to sleep. I have no idea why pc is not outputting to monitor. im no computer expert and don't know anymore options please help. the fact that I was running my recovery discs when this happened may be contributing to the prob but i have no idea.

Did you manage to repeat the factory recovery without the PC crashing halfway through the process?

Noyb

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
First Name
Jay
Can you install using a normal monitor ???

Noyb

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
First Name
Jay
Also, Sometimes ... The HP recovery will not work if it sees a foreign system on the HDD.
You have to erase the HDD .. Then reinstall.
If your new MOBO wasn't tattooed for the HP OS .. It won't work

DelVecchio37

what is a normal monitor out tried the vga analog dvi usb and hdmi . I thought I might need to install windows on new mono recovery cds wont work but how do I do so if I can't see

Noyb

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
First Name
Jay
I'd guess that vga or hdmi would be normal ... You didn't say how the wide screen was connected.
Some Video outs have to be seen at bootup to work.
You might have to try another monitor to see if it might be the problem.

DelVecchio37