1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No internet access on strong WiFi connection

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jpainter01, Nov 6, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jpainter01

    jpainter01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    We are currently at Gulf State Park in Gulf Shores, AL. On my laptop I can connect to their G band non-secure WiFi network with an "Excellent" signal strength. However, I get no internet access.

    Other devices in our rig connect and get internet access just fine.

    I've spent hours with Dell Pro-tech support to no avail. I've spent many days Googling this problem and have discovered that others experience the same issue on public WiFis, but I can find no posted solution.

    Dell's last suggestion emailed to me was as follows: "I would suggest clearing the ip stack and flushing the dns. To do that open command prompt on your pc by clicking start and going to search at the bottom and type cmd, the cmd.exe should come up at the top but you have to RIGHTCLICK on cmd.exe and then click run as administrator. Hit yes on the next window and the run box should pop up when you hit that. This should bring up the black command screen. In this window type this in. ipconfig/release then hit enter. That should turn your ip to 0’s. Now in the next line type in ipconfig/flushdns and hit enter. After that type in netsh winsock reset and hit enter. After that exit the command prompt and then reboot your pc and try the connection again."

    This did not resolve the problem either.

    If anyone has experienced this strange phenomenon and found a solution, I would be forever grateful.

    Thank you
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    If you want to troubleshoot ...

    Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page (don't collapse the Radar, Connection or Signal History) of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector. If you need help with a screen shot see TSG Posting a Screenshot. FWIW to take screen shots with Windows Vista or latter I prefer to use the built-in Snipping Tool.

    Identify the desired network if it is not obvious.

    Also show ...

    Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
    Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    [Press ENTER after each command.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. jpainter01

    jpainter01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Thank you so much for looking at this. It is greatly appreciated.

    Below is the result of ipconfig /all. If sending the same file from another laptop that connects and does get internet access would be helpful, I can do that also.

    I created a screen shot of the WiFi inspector's view and have attached it.


    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : JCPInspiron
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : freewifi.gulfstatepark

    Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 3:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : F8-16-54-4C-D9-99
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : F8-16-54-4C-D9-9C
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : B8-2A-72-CD-6E-AF
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : freewifi.gulfstatepark
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Wireless-N 7260
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : F8-16-54-4C-D9-98
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5d5c:a35b:e810:7b6d%3(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.4.181(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, November 8, 2014 6:57:20 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, November 8, 2014 12:57:20 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.4.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.4.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 66590292
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1B-8D-4A-5A-B8-2A-72-CD-6E-AF
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 4.2.2.2
    4.2.2.3
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.freewifi.gulfstatepark:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : freewifi.gulfstatepark
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     

    Attached Files:

  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    Well, you do not have an "excellent" signal. -60 dBm is OK, but could be suffering interference from that other almost as strong signal on channel 8. The real problem may be indicated by the variation in signal strength, which dips to -70 dBm or worse.

    With luck this may be only a driver issue. Download and install the latest wireless driver from Dell's web site. If that doesn't give sufficient improvement try the latest driver directly from Intel's site.

    If still no good, please use the same procedure as for ipconfig /all to show the following test commands:

    ping 192.168.4.1

    ping 4.2.2.2

    ping yahoo.com
     
  5. jpainter01

    jpainter01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Thank you, I will try all of your suggestions.

    I put "Excellent" in quotes to indicate that when I hovered my mouse over the connection, Windows reports it as "Excellent".

    Pinging the gateway of 192.168.4 results in "Destination host unreachable"
    Pinging 4.2.2.2 results in "Request timed out"
    Pinging yahoo.com results in "Ping request could not find host yahoo.com"
    Pinging 98.138.253.109 resulted in "Request timed out".

    I realize I cannot get out beyond the router. What doesn't make sense is why some computers can and some cannot. The RV parked next to us has the same problem of "some can, most cannot".

    I've also tried a usb network card that claimed G band compatibility. No luck there either.

    The network card in the new Dell that is problematic shows as the same network card in a 6 month old Dell of my DH that connects and gets internet access just fine.

    Our cell phones connect to the park WiFi, but cannot access the internet either.

    This is the most bizarre inconsistency I've ever seen. There is no help from the park office. They know there is a problem, but they have no solution.

    Again, thank you for your help.

    Pinging 192.168.4.26 (another laptop in our rig) results in positive replies.
     
  6. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,220
    First Name:
    Derek
    there are 2 networks with the same ssid of gulfstatepark
    try connecting to the second one lower down the list that is using channel 1
     
  7. jpainter01

    jpainter01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    The program you had me use (which I was not familiar with ) has shown me the problem.

    I've loaded it onto 3 laptops. The two that are working are connected to channel 8 and the one that is not working is on channel 1. All of them were logged on from the same physical connection.

    All of the access points show with the same SSID as "GulfStatePark" . Apparently there is some cloaking going on. We only see one "GulfStatePark" choice.

    Is there a way somewhere in Windows 8 that you can tell a connection to use a certain channel?
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    Good info!

    Is that consistent (always happens)? The Xirrus in post # 3 shows connected to channel 8, and I assumed that was the problematic PC?

    (Assuming you just missed typing the .1 at the end of that IP.) That means that you are not even getting to the router. Which, with your above info, would indicate that the Access Point to which you connected is not communicating with the router. But if there were no communication at all that would mean that you hadn't even obtained an IP configuration. Confusing (at least to me).

    Wait; do the PCs that have internet access have an IP of 192.168.4.x and Mask 255.255.0.0 and Default Gateway of 192.168.4.1 and DHCP Server of 192.168.4.1? If not, please show an ipconfig /all.
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    No; or at least I haven't found one. Windows picks whichever one (with the same SSIDs) it wants and not always the stronger signal. :(
     
  10. jpainter01

    jpainter01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Well, we got the laptop to connect to channel 8 (like the others), but that didn't fix the problem either.
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    OK, so we can forget (at least for now) the channel business, right?

    From post # 5:
    That first IP is really 192.168.4.1, right? And this is consistent? And the other laptops can ping 192.168.4.1?

    What firewall or security suite is, or ever was, on this system?

    I saw that, but am trying to ignore it for the moment.
     
  12. jpainter01

    jpainter01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    This gets stranger and stranger. When I did the screen shot that I sent, I didn't take note of the channel. I hadn't loaded the program onto the other laptops for a comparison.

    I must have disconnected from that connection and reconnected and then did the comparison and noticed that the "good" machines were connected to channel 8 and the "problem" one was connecting to channel 1.

    Now they are all connected to channel 8, and the "problem" machine still has no internet connection.
     
  13. jpainter01

    jpainter01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    14

    Duh! I did type the ping wrong in the command box. When I type it correctly, it does return a response.
    I'm so embarrassed on that one.
     
  14. jpainter01

    jpainter01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Yes, 192.168.4.1 is correct.

    All machines can ping 192.168.4.1 and get a reply.

    The problem machine has Bit Defender, Malware Bytes and standard Windows firewall activated.
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    Not to worry. We're going kinda fast and we are bound to have some typos.

    Since you can ping the router but not an internet address (such as 4.2.2.2) and you also have the same problem with other devices I think that the problem lies within the router. But one "final" thing you can try on the PC is ...

    Uninstall Bit Defender and run the Uninstall Tool. Make sure you have the Product Key or whatever you need to reinstall it after testing.

    I'm kinda grasping at (two) straws now. First, do the devices that have internet access get "Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0"?

    Second, each device, including the phones, has an IP address of 192.168.4.x, right? Make a list of the "x" for the devices that have internet access and another list of the ones that do not. I'm guessing that maybe there is something on the router (maybe an accidental setting; maybe a defect) that is blocking internet access for certain IPs, and if you go to them with several examples they should be able to confirm or deny that theory.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1136822

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice